Excessive fuel consumption.....DUH

PumpeDuse

Recently I've become a proud owner of a 115 HP Bora TDI. It's an excellent car with a lot of extras, runs like hell. It's just (in my opinion) a bit too high fuel consumption that bothers me. For example: I tank it full and drive about 500 km before the reserve alert goes on ('Bitte tanken' message on MFA). Considering the tank volume of 55 liters (sorry, I'm not very good at American measurement standards), it's about 10 l per 100 km (orabout 23.5 US MPG, according to Fred's converter). Before I pop the question I'll also mention that I've made 2000 km with the car so far and about 90% of that driving was done in the city.
Do I have reason to be concerned about the consumption, because I read that the TDIs need quite a lot time to break in? And how long actually the TDI takes to break in (approximately, in kms or miles)?
I've reported it to the service and got an answer that it's completely normal for 115HP TDI to "drink some more" than usual.
Thank you all in advance.

TDIMeister

Phd of TDIClub Enthusiast, Moderator at Large
TDI
TDI
It seems you already have all the answers to your questions.

One can expect fuel consumption during the first few thousand kilometers to be higher. You can be sure that as the mileage increases, fuel consumption will noticeably improve.

City driving and a heavy foot also significantly influence fuel consumption in any car; a Diesel is no exception, but is not so much affected than petrol ones.

Last thing to keep in mind is that the fuel reserve is quite generous in VW's. I drove for a further 200km on a 90hp B5 Passat TDI after the reserve light first came on (I was in Denmark driving back to Germany and didn't want to pay the much more expensive cost for Diesel there). I probably could have gone farther but didn't want to risk being stranded on the Autobahn in Northern Germany late in the evening.