Thinking of swapping the engine in my 2005 TDI Wagon (MK-IV) with a 2005 Passat TDI

manics01

Veteran Member
TDI
2005 Jetta Wagon TDI
Hello, everybody.
I'm a newbie, and after some searches of the threads around I decided to just post it and ask for insight from the professionals...

If I have 2005 MK-IV TDI automatic wagon, would it be possible to swap my engine with a 2005 Passat TDI engine? How difficult would it be in terms of like, would I need to swap the ECUs and the engine harnesses, how about the Tiptronic transmissions?

I thought that rather than spending thousands on engine upgrades like bigger turbos, chip, etc. I'd rather swap in a more powerful engine ...

I know that 2005 Passat TDIs have the B.S. problem ... With the engine out, how difficult is it to upgrade the chain driven pump with the VW upgrade kit? By the way, are those kits readily available on the market and how expensive are they? I'm just trying to figure what would be my final cost for the extra 40 horses under the hood.

Thanks everyone!

AndyBees

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Silver 2003 Jetta TDI, Silver 2000 Jetta TDI (sold), '84 Vanagon with '02 ALH engine
Since the TDI 101 Forum gets far more viewers, I'd post the question over there! This forum is primarily for those putting a TDI engine in a vehicle other than one that come out with a TDI.

Just guessing, without doing any research, I'd say your engine "swap" would be rather straight forward!

oilhammer

Certified Volkswagen Nut & Vendor
TDI
There are just too many to list....
Why on Earth would you want to spend all the time and effort to install a 100hp engine in place of a 136hp one?

Besides, much of the 'stuff' won't swap over anyways. Much easier to just upgrade the BHW engine, be done with it, and be 100% chainless forever (something you cannot do on the BEW). :)