Gen 1 Emissions Fix + P0401 (EGR Low Flow)

Jeffro420

TDI
2010 Jetta TDI
Gen 1 Emissions Fix + Pre-existing P0401 (EGR Low Flow)

Hello all!

I have a 2010 Jetta TDI and I opted for the fix, since I love the car, just put in a new stereo, and am about to have it paid off. However, for the past 1-1.5 years I've had the infamous P0401 error code pop up intermittently. The CEL is currently on.

I searched the forums but haven't found any specific threads discussing the GEN 1 fix with this error code on, so maybe some info could be shared here!

I'm just a newbie on doing my own car work, so a while back I did bring the car in to a shop to have the EGR filter cleaned out, which made the CEL go away for a while but it's back. Recently, when inquiring with a local import shop about a DPF delete, they told me not to worry about fixing it, that the Gen 1 TDI fix would replace all those parts and likely fix my problem.

So, as I consider when to schedule my fix, I wanted to know if anyone else was in my same shoes.

1) Did you have a P0401 CEL on when you brought it in for the emissions fix? If so, did the dealer have any comments?

2) If you had this problem, with or without the CEL on when you brought the car in, did the dealership give you any problems about performing the fix? Any extra fees?

3) The warranty states the entire EGR system, including the EGR valves, cooler, filter, etc, is covered for 4 years and 48,000 miles (I'm already at 125k). In addition, the extended warranty says "Conflicts concerning the warranty are to be resolved in favor of the customer", on page 9 of the pamphlet they sent. Doesn't that imply that even if the dealer tried to charge me for the EGR fix, I could point to that clause and say, "nope"?

Thanks for any feedback y'all might have! Looking forward to the fix just don't want to drop it off at the dealer and be told I owe $1500 to fix the EGR before the can do the emissions fix.

Last edited:

Jeffro420

TDI
2010 Jetta TDI