2001 New Beetle TDI

spider_mun

TDI
Beetle TDI 2001
Just had my 2001 Beetle TDI in the shop, "engine light" was on, and I did notice a lack of power, well they say new turbocharger is required. ($2200.00 est). I have had turbos fail (non VW, old Yami Seca Turbo) and I not sure what is wrong with the turbo on the VW, no indications, no oil leaks no noises, without visual inspection (crack or broken blades) what can the OBD-ii tell you? I do have the OBD-II software (vag-com) but my cable is on loan should have by next week. I am shopping for a turbo, I hope to replace myself, The Haynes manual I have says in order to change the turbocharger, the right-side drive axel needs to be removed? Not sure why, unless this is to remove the intercooler. I am an accomplished mechanic, so I am not unfamiliar with this, I maintain two large cruisers (boats) one has Hino Diesels(turbo). Anyone familiar with the New Beetle, and any with turbocharger replacement, any info would would be appriciated to speed up my repair. Seems odd to have to remove the drive axel?

hagar

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 white Jetta 5sp & 2006 Mercedes CDI
Me thinks they are feeding you a pack of lies. Make sure you check out all the other sources for power loss, MAF, vacuum lines, N75, clogged fuel filter, plugged EGR valve before you replace the turbo. And IMPEX sells the turbo for around $750. if you DO replace the turbo, I'll buy the old one for $100!

jasonTDI

TDI GURU Vendor , w/Business number
TDI
20' RAM 3500 CCLB dually HO/Aisan. 2019 Cherokee 2.0T
First, where are you located? Second it is a few things but likely a clogged VNT mechanism on the turbo. Dissasembly and cleaning car be done easily. You can pull the turbo from the bottom but it is easier to remove the intake and pull it out the top. Figure a good 5-7 hours for the whole job if you do it and are good at turning wrenches.

spider_mun

TDI
Beetle TDI 2001
Absolutely