New To VW Diesel and have some odd ideas. (long)

fretrunner9k

TDI
None... yet
Hey every one. Im new around here and i actuly dont have my car yet but im been looking around and had a few questions.

So heres the back ground
Along with being new to the forum im new to VWs and Diesel cars in general, though im not new to turbo set ups and there systems.

I well soon no longer own a 97 Saab 9000. I drove it for 2 years and loved it (stage 3+ 300hp and 350 ft lbs torque) but it has now reached the point where im investing to much money in it and it has to go

I got into the idea of a diesel car after talking to a fellow saaber who has converted his benz to run on Veg oil and thought ... hmm that would be a great way to save money.
But a benz is out of the question... so my next option was a VW. Ive always like the look of the golf and passat and enjoy europen stylying and enginearing.
BUT While i know that a diesel car is ment to be economic... and a grease car even more so... 90hp just wont cut it. I love how the golf handles but i need a little push when i get on the petal.
So my questions are.
What is the best moddel TDI to convert to a grease car? Has any one here done it? Is it highly frowned apon?

That being said... has any one actuly modded a grease car to get some extra performance?

Ive read that the most common mods seem to be injectorsand some kind of ecu tune. Other then that u just have to get a bigger turbo.

Im really only looking for an extra 10-20 hp to compinsate for the loss of power from the veg oil and to round out those torque #s.

i know on a saab that could be done with somehing as simple as a down pipe and a MBC but no one seems to mention those any where... is the car psi maxed out on the stock ecu and the exhaust flows enough?
Sorry if these are real newbie questions... i just dont seem to be coming up with answers easily.
Thanks for your time.
--Brad

Last edited:

speakerboy

Veteran Member
TDI
none right now :'(