PHOTOS: Climatronic Swap and more...

sinc

Veteran Member
TDI
None
I've recently added a few things to my TDI, lets start off first by saying I am far from a mechanic, I'm just some d****** who likes to spend lots of money on his car like its an addiction... err it is I guess an addiction :D

So this is a purely a post of what I did since some members have asked to see whats involved and by no means a complete DIY blah blah blah use this info at your own risk.

Links to where I got my information from:

Climatronic Swap (has links to other sites on it): http://uk-mkivs.net/forums/t/332130.aspx

Half MFA Install: http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=48366

Glovebox AC (see post #20): http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=80023&page=2

The install is being done on a 2001 Jetta TDI, reason for this whole idea was because of a trip to h2oi in Ocean City 2 years ago. My heater box broke en route, ac stopped working and it was only blasting heat for the rest of the trip. diagnosed it to a broken blend door and since thius was my summer car I just bypassed the coolant to avoid the heater box and bingo, no heat but ac still worked. Last fall got cold so I looked for a solution this winter. Found a sweet deal on a complete climatronic swap and bought it long before I knew what was involved.

I apologize in advance, only have a cell phone camera and I didn't take as many pics as I should of.

I had the wiring loom out all winter matching wires up to diagrams and pin outs from the link above. After I got that all straightened out I started.

You need to go from this:

To this: