Loss of power/ smoke

Johnnyrockets

TDI
B5.5
Car cuts in and out at around 2500-3000 rpm. Doesn't always do it and sometimes stays a limp mode. Recently replaced MAF n75 and MAP sensors and timing belt was done by VW. New to TDIs so I'm still learning all this and not really sure what I should do from here. Any help would be appreciated.

fastcar4re

Veteran Member
TDI
2015 Jetta TDI SEL (purchased as "new" in May 2017).
You didn't say how many miles are on your vehicle, but mine had a similar issue at 123,000 miles. I did not have a limp mode issue, but I did have some black smoke and loss of power whenever the engine was under load (accelerating). At steady speed I had no noticeable issues. I had a bad cam lobe (one went soft and wore down, thus a valve was not opening properly). I had replaced my MAF with an aftermarket German MAF to try to fix the problem, but it turns out the generation or version of MAF that I installed was older than what the car required, and that also caused a code (I don't know which one). The dealer sorted everything out for me, as I would not attempt a cam replacement by myself, even if I could diagnose it. New cam = runs like a champ again.

Johnnyrockets

TDI
B5.5
Sorry car has 123000 miles. The problem is intermittent and doesn't happen all the time so seems more of an electrical issue but correct me if I'm wrong. I replaced the MAF with a Bosch one is that what it should be?

Johnnyrockets

TDI
B5.5
Also glow plugs were changed because one went bad old were NGks and were replaced with the oem steel plugs

rydogg

Veteran Member
TDI
Passat
I assume you had the EMISSIONS WORKSHOP appear on the dash, did you read the codes yet? Based on your description it could be a few things including 1) As fastcar said, likely a cam lobe issue and 2) a blown/cracked intercooler hose

Johnnyrockets

TDI
B5.5
Yes I had the emissions workshop and the dealer said it had codes for the n75 and MAF sensor. Don't have the vcds to read the codes myself.