3” vs 2.5”exhaust on Q5 TDI

DieselDeeds

Veteran Member
TDI
2014 Q5 TDI S-Line + Black Optics Package
Hi all, this is my first post here and I’m hoping to get some input regarding exhaust piping. I know this could stir up some debate on what is better but keep opinions clean without attacking other people’s opinions or views. If you have data or videos to support your claim, please include them.

In the past I’ve had two modded STi’s that I’ve done myself so I know my way around cars very well...but this is my first time owning a diesel, let alone an Audi Diesel.

I got a Malone tune a few weeks ago and I love it! I’m getting the dpf/egr delete done and a retune soon. I’ve seen there are two reputable companies that sell the kits. One company sells theirs with 2.5” exhaust and the other company a 3” exhaust.. is the 3.0 liter diesel big enough/push enough air to benefit from a larger diameter exhaust, say 3”? Thanks for your input!
-Dee

eddieleephd

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2002 jetta Wagon
The only thing a 3 inch exhaust will do is sound bigger and louder. Until you're getting into larger engines there's really no benefit, and even then I found they're very annoying to listen to personally.
Sounds preference though really.

Sent from my Armor_2 using Tapatalk

turbobrick240

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2011 vw golf tdi(gone to greener pastures), 2001 ford f250 powerstroke
If you're just planning for software tuning, the 2.5" is plenty big enough. If you think you may want to do significant hardware mods (turbo, injectors, etc.)at some point, then 3" wouldn't hurt.

Yourbuddysatin

Veteran Member
TDI
2013 Jetta tdi
Bigger the pipe helps lower EGTs. It is a v6 and won’t hurt to put larger exhaust on right off the bat. Once the tdi bug bites you...you might not ever quit modding it.

Markus L

Veteran Member
TDI
Caddy (14D) 1.9TDI 2-stage 400+bhp, Passat 3BG 4motion AVF