Misfire diagnosis?

jjcsnlynn

Veteran Member
TDI
02 & 03 Jetta TDI,99 Beetle TDI, 04 Chevy Duramax 2500HD 4x4
I recently picked up a 05 B5 TDI with 150K miles and it has what I call a misfire. When I got the car I had the trans P0741 (I think...for the TC) but I changed the filter and fluid. It had an oil leak, but I fixed that.

Since picking it up, I've had an occasional misfire. I'll be going along, mostly in an uphill or acceleration mode, and the engine will feel like 1 cylinder will not fire once or twice. Then it straightens out and all is good. It happened once in nearly 200 miles we put on it yesterday.

I pulled the VCDS and no codes. Even my trans code is gone.

What can cause this and why doesn't it throw any codes? I'm new to the BEW but can I easily diagnose if an injector is going bad? I just don't know why it doesn't give me a code.

jjcsnlynn

Veteran Member
TDI
02 & 03 Jetta TDI,99 Beetle TDI, 04 Chevy Duramax 2500HD 4x4
I changed the fuel filter and Diesel Purged the injectors. How do I tell if the cam is wearing without pulling the valve cover?

Trcoelho

TDI
Jetta MK4
I have a similar misfire issue that occurs only during startup. Usually only cold.
IP timing is set at 65 and the engine fires up right away when cold (-5 Celcius).
Just recently installed new injector nozzles (PP764's) and new fuel lines, filter, no leaks.
With the tune, 11mm IP and bigger nozzles, feels like it's running a bit rich.
My engine shatters a bit and doesn't rev up smoothly when parked in neutral.
Rev's up smoother when the engine is under a load.
Any thoughts would be helpful.

Windex

Top Post Dawg
TDI
05 B5V 01E FRF
I have a similar misfire issue that occurs only during startup. Usually only cold.
IP timing is set at 65 and the engine fires up right away when cold (-5 Celcius).
Just recently installed new injector nozzles (PP764's) and new fuel lines, filter, no leaks.
With the tune, 11mm IP and bigger nozzles, feels like it's running a bit rich.