2005 Passat GLS TDI WAGON with 163000 miles

Imanco

TDI
2013 passat TDI SE.... turned in. 2015 Jetta SE
Hi ,

i am new to this great forum and i am in the process of buying a 2005 GLS/TDI passat wagon, with over 163,000 miles on it. Transmission and breaks just got replaced and it has under gone Maryland inspection and passed.
Asking price is $6,800, but they are willing to knock off a few bucks.
My questions are , what do i really need to look out for in this purchase?
Is this a good deal?
Where can i take the car to for independent check and what is the cost?
Thanks Guys

imo000

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2009 M-B ML320 Diesel & '05 Passat TDI Manual 5-Speed
Is the replacement transmission a used one, a VW rebuild or a non VW rebuild?

1854sailor

Resident Curmudgeon
TDI
2015 Golf SE SportWagen, 2015 Golf SE Hatch Back.
What imo000 said, and you should also ask if the balance shaft module has been replaced. At 163K it is time for a new timing belt and, with the car in service position for the TB job, the BSM could be done then.

Imanco

TDI
re

I did not ask, but i guess its just a used trans. Dont understand what is meant by BSM

truman

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'05 Passat Variant, Still miss the 03JW
I wouldn't buy it without knowing all the details about its prior service and present condition. Has the Balance Shaft module been updated or deleted? Does it have OEM axles or Chinese replicas? VW reman tranny would be important vs used of unknown condtion. What oils have been used during its service life and what is the condition of the camshaft? Motor mounts also tend to go at about this age and aren't cheap either.
If the maintenance is not current, it can be an expensive car to recondition properly.

1854sailor

Resident Curmudgeon
TDI
...Where can i take the car to for independent check and what is the cost?
Drop Oliver an e-mail, he might be able to look at the car for you. He's one of the best around.

http://forums.tdiclub.com/showpost.php?p=2211254&postcount=44