2009 Jetta TDI lift pump and aux pump failure

NineHighline

TDI
2009 Jetta TDI Highline
I'm new to this whole forum thing but I just have to share my TDI problem with others who can understand and relate. My car has 11,000 km's and at about 10,000 km the lift pump started to make a lot of noise (high pitched whine). I figured maybe it was just a bad tank of diesel, so I ran the tank down then topped it off. Noise didn't go away. Then I started searching online and all this information started coming up about hpfp failures and metal in the fuel system. So I got a new filter and started the process of changing mine, making sure to document the entire process with pics/videos. Sure enough when I cracked open that canister...the top of the filter had a significant dusting of glitter and a couple larger particles. I removed the old filter and fuel and saved it all in a sterile glass jar (in case I needed it for a future battle with VW). I installed the new filter, topped off the canister with fresh diesel and did a road test. Car ran great but the lift pump noise remained. So then I booked it in with my dealer (2 hrs away) and they ordered the part. I told them about the glitter in the fuel filter (showed them a pic too) and they denied anything and everything about hpfp failures. They told me strictly not to use any additives and adhere to the 8,000 km oci. Then not even 800 km later the auxillary fuel pump is making a buzzing noise, which is getting progessively louder. My initial plan was to just drive it until the fuel system failed, but the last thing I want is some sleezy tow-truck driver towing my car. I then checked the fuel filter again and found glitter on the top of the filter, but not as significant as on the original filter. So eventually I took the car to my local dealer to get their reaction. Of course they acted as though I was the only one with this problem and they'd never heard of any hpfp failures. Then one of the more experienced mechanics came out