New TDI Owner

05snopro

TDI
'13 Passat TDI SE
Hi All,

My wife and I just purchased a '13 Passat TDI SE yesterday. I have a few questions on the model and on diesel cars in general. I'm not new to diesels as I am on my 3rd GM Duramax truck but have never owned a diesel car. We chose the TDI because my wife will be putting on 20-30k mi / yr with a job change and she had been driving the truck. I have a company truck to drive, which is really nice.

I typically do all the maintnence on my own vehicles: Oil changes, fuel filter changes, air filter changes, etc....(easy stuff). Is all that fairly easy to do on this car? I took a quick peek today, but haven't had a good chance to look it over that well. I'm no master mechanic by any means, but am mechanically inclined. The first 3 services will be done by the dealer as it comes with buying a new car, but after that I will probably attempt doing them myself, except the DSG fluid changes.

Also, and I'm asking here only because I never asked at the dealer and the saleman never mentioned it, are these car DEF / urea injected? I assume the AdBlue is DEF? How often are you guys needing to top off the fluid?

Anyone drive their cars in the snow? Hoping it does better than her old Pontiac G6. It was horrible in any weather, even rain at some times, and really scared her out of driving a car. I pushed for the TDI being a diesel guy and hope we made the right choice.

So far we love the car. Got 48 avg. mpg on the way home from the dealer. According to the computer anyway.

Thanks for any input. Hope to learn lots from the forum.

FormerOwner

Veteran Member
TDI
2013 Passat TDI SE 6spd; Former Owner 02 MkIV wagon