NEW '05 Passat, Hard to start on B100

biotahoe

TDI
passat, 2005, silver
NEW \'05 Passat, Hard to start on B100

I replaced the fuel filter to be on the safe side. Now it cold starts fine but doesn't want to re-start once warmed up. Wierd eh? Any thoughts? It will start but requires extended cranking.

Best

T

glyphon

TDI
2005 new Jetta TDi, Graphite Blue
Re: NEW \'05 Passat, Hard to start on B100

not really sure, i'm extremely new to diesels, but VW only officially supports biodiesel upto B5. sorry i don't have any more info for you.

TomB

Veteran Member
TDI
2015 Audi TDI Prestige Sport

Like you said, you are new... It might be best to only respond when you have someting constructive to offer.

Comments like "VW only supports B5" come across as petty.

I have run B100 on both my 05 Passats now for almost 5 months without issue. Before that 40K miles on B100 on my 02 Jetta.

Sounds like a bad batch of fuel. Is it commercial? What brand?

maxforce

Veteran Member
TDI
04 Golf, 04 Jetta, 84 300SD

We run b50 to b100 in an 03 and 04, never an issue starting. I would suggest filling with diesel and see if the problem goes away. If it doesn't go away take it back to the dealer. If it does go away you could have gotten some bad fuel. If you keep the problem you could have some sort of timing issue. If you take it to the wrong dealer with the b100 in it, it may "blind" them to any other problem.

JLH

TDI
Jetta GLS Wagon 2004 blue

biotahoe

TDI
passat, 2005, silver

Hey JLH,

Very interested to learn more about your problem. You are the first one who has responded with the same experience.

Would you please elaborate? Thanks!

JLH

TDI
Jetta GLS Wagon 2004 blue

See above - the second link is my original post on the issue from back in June.
Another poster, srichter59, who makes his own Bio had the same problem when he was not washing the fuel, so based on this I am assuming the fuel I was getting was not being washed during the manufacturing process.