Searching for opinions

Lubb

TDI
None Yet
I’m new to cars in general here I’ve only owned trucks and SUVs in the past but I’m wanting to purchase a tdi for a commuter car. I had a couple questions I was hoping y’all could help me with.
1: I’m 6’5” will I fit in a Jetta or Golf and would I be able to shift comfortably.
2: Are automatic transmissions prone to failure on the tdi
3: I have found 3 TDIs near me that I’m interested in and wanted the opinions of actual tdi owners.
A: 1998 Jetta 5 speed with 127,000miles ($3,500 firm)
B: 2002 golf 5 speed with 180,000miles ($4,850 obo also built by the “tdi guy” in Fort Worth)
C: 2005 Golf automatic with 125,000 miles ($5,000 obo)

Thanks for any input y’all can give me. I am very mechanical and plan to do all maintenance myself

Tdijarhead

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2003 TDI Jetta Daughters Car, 2001 TDI Beetle, Wife’s car, 2005 Golf TDI Mine, all 5 spds
You’d probably fit better in a beetle. But a golf or Jetta should be fine.

Automatic transmissions are not prone to failure on these cars they are guaranteed to fail. Unless I was buying a super clean, no rust , low mileage car, specifically to do a 5spd swap I wouldn’t even consider buying an MK4 with an auto. They are pretty much parts cars only and of course you can’t use the transmission for more than a paper weight.

My vote would be the 02.

Lubb

TDI
None Yet
Thanks for the input. I like the 02 as well style wise over the 98 for sure. I’m not sure if I could picture myself in a beetle.

AronS

TDI
2014 Jetta TDI Sedan Premium 6 Speed Manual
Are all three well maintained and taken care of? That should be an important factor in your decision.
Assuming they are, my last car was a non-TDI 2002 Jetta (back then, Jettas and Golfs were more similar than they are now) and I loved it. That said, I paid $5500 for it in 2008 with 114,000 miles on it, so $4800 for that golf seems a little high to me.