www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Order your TDIClub merchandise and help support TDIClub


Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > OBD Scanners

OBD Scanners Discussions on using On Board Diagnostic (OBD) scanners/ Diagnostic Equipment related to TDIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 3rd, 2012, 20:36   #1
AARodriguez Corp.
TDIClub Enthusiast
Vendor
w/Business number
 
AARodriguez Corp.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: South East USA
Default VCDS No response from Contoller, but SnapOn code reader works

A customer has a 99.5 TDI golf, we were unable to scan his car using VCDS with his original ECU, a tuned ECU was installed and we are still unable to scan the car with VCDS, the only message we get is, "No response from controller"

The only time I've seen this happen before was with a bad cluster.
Any thoughts?
__________________
AARodriguez Corp. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2012, 08:59   #2
jef@rosstech
Associate Ross-Tech Vendor
w/Business number
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: knoxville
Default

When you plug the interface up to the OBDII port of the car, what does the LED light do?

Start VCDS, what version are you running?

Click on [Options], then [Test], what are ALL of the results of the Port Test while connected to this vehicle?

Just so everyone knows, all of our registered users can call us for free product support if they are having communication issues.
__________________
Jef blah blah blah
www.Ross-Tech.com

What should you do first with VCDS? AUTOSCAN!

Last edited by jef@rosstech; December 4th, 2012 at 09:05.
jef@rosstech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2012, 09:02   #3
oilhammer
Certified Volkswagen Nut Vendor
 
oilhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: outside St Louis (where it's safe)
Fuel Economy: fantastic
Default

The Snap On most likely is just accessing the generic [useless] OBD2 side of things, which goes straight into the watered down part of the engine controller, not through the K-line like the native VAG version (and VCDS) would use.

The K-line would go through the Instrument cluster, correct. Check all the fuses first, though.
__________________
oilhammer
www.cardocautomotive.com
oilhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2012, 10:57   #4
Ol'Rattler
Veteran Member
 
Ol'Rattler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: PNA
Default

The aftermarket radio problem? Or would the Snap-On tool not work either?
__________________
2006 Jetta TDI
5 speed, Manufactured 06/06
DC stage 1 SMF Clutch
Draw-Tite hitch
Dash Tray
Blue tint aspherical mirrors
Euro Cupholder
Euro Light Switch
2nd grocery hook
VCDS Hacks: DRL Disabled-Seatbelt Chime Disabled-Key fob Power Windows
Adjusted Cam to Crank Timing
Ol'Rattler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2012, 15:14   #5
Lone Ranger
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Winnipeg MB
TDI(s): TDI Ranger
Default

Odd, and almost the opposite of what my truck does. (2002 ALH in a Ranger) My VCDS connects and works flawlessly, but I tried to add one of those digital gauge units(scangauge II) and it won't connect.
Lone Ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2012, 11:13   #6
cheeze you
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Florida
Fuel Economy: 35-40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jef@rosstech View Post
When you plug the interface up to the OBDII port of the car, what does the LED light do?

Start VCDS, what version are you running?

Click on [Options], then [Test], what are ALL of the results of the Port Test while connected to this vehicle?

Just so everyone knows, all of our registered users can call us for free product support if they are having communication issues.
Led turns green.

Version 11.11

Test yields such:

Port status: ok
USB library version: 03.01.19
USB driver version: 02.06.01

Interface: Found!

Type: Ross-Tech HEX-USB+CAN
Version: 1.92
Status: questionable.
K1: short to +12
K2: OK
Can: not ready.

Just got off the phone with Ross-Tech guy on the phone said I need to be subscribed to your phone support and also since I don't own the VCDS cable and it is a loan from a friend he couldn't help me.

Thanks,
-Scott.
cheeze you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2012, 11:16   #7
cheeze you
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Florida
Fuel Economy: 35-40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oilhammer View Post
The Snap On most likely is just accessing the generic [useless] OBD2 side of things, which goes straight into the watered down part of the engine controller, not through the K-line like the native VAG version (and VCDS) would use.

The K-line would go through the Instrument cluster, correct. Check all the fuses first, though.
Attempted to pull fuse 11(cluster fuse) didn't change anything.

Thanks,
-Scott.
cheeze you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2012, 11:16   #8
cheeze you
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Florida
Fuel Economy: 35-40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ol'Rattler View Post
The aftermarket radio problem? Or would the Snap-On tool not work either?
I have an aftermarket radio. Snap-on will read VCDS won't read.
cheeze you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2012, 11:17   #9
cheeze you
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Florida
Fuel Economy: 35-40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lone Ranger View Post
Odd, and almost the opposite of what my truck does. (2002 ALH in a Ranger) My VCDS connects and works flawlessly, but I tried to add one of those digital gauge units(scangauge II) and it won't connect.
2002 ALH in a Ranger? Best of both worlds. I have a 2000 ranger that just rolled over 200k never had any problems with it.
cheeze you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2012, 11:24   #10
jef@rosstech
Associate Ross-Tech Vendor
w/Business number
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: knoxville
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheeze you View Post
K1: short to +12
There is the issue, is should read K1: OK. Most of the time this is due to an aftermarket radio (as noted above). We have more information on this on our web site:

http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/aftermarket-radio.html

The short version... is terminal #3 of the black power plug on connected to the aftermarket radio wiring harness? If so, cut the wire on the aftermarket radio harness and tape it off.

Just to clarify, registered Ross Tech customers can contact Ross Tech directly for support. If a Ross Tech customer loans his interface to a friend, that is fine, but said friend is not a Ross Tech customers and does not qualify for support directly from Ross Tech (phone or email).

Registered users can get free product support directly from Ross Tech over the phone. Product support is to help our customers to get the software and hardware up and running so they can communicate with a vehicle (this OP's issue here would fall under product support). Anything beyond that is vehicle support, which is a fee based service over the phone. Ross Tech still has free support for our customers via email.

Questions on forums like this, we don't mind helping out some one who is borrowing an interface from one of our customers. We hope that people will see the value in being a Ross Tech customer (in terms of support and the product itself) and make the small investment to purchase the best tool on the market. [/small sales pitch off]

__________________
Jef blah blah blah
www.Ross-Tech.com

What should you do first with VCDS? AUTOSCAN!

Last edited by jef@rosstech; December 13th, 2012 at 12:40.
jef@rosstech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2012, 11:57   #11
cheeze you
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Florida
Fuel Economy: 35-40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jef@rosstech View Post
There is the issue, is should read K1: OK. Most of the time this is due to an aftermarket radio (as noted above). We have more information on this on our web site:

http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/aftermarket-radio.html

The short version... is terminal #3 of the black power plug on connected to the aftermarket radio wiring harness? If so, cut the wire on the aftermarket radio harness and tape it off.
Awesome, worked just like you said.
Now I've gotta adjust the IQ level.
cheeze you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2012, 09:29   #12
Ol'Rattler
Veteran Member
 
Ol'Rattler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: PNA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jef@rosstech View Post
There is the issue, is should read K1: OK. Most of the time this is due to an aftermarket radio (as noted above). We have more information on this on our web site:

http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/aftermarket-radio.html

The short version... is terminal #3 of the black power plug on connected to the aftermarket radio wiring harness? If so, cut the wire on the aftermarket radio harness and tape it off.

Just to clarify, registered Ross Tech customers can contact Ross Tech directly for support. If a Ross Tech customer loans his interface to a friend, that is fine, but said friend is not a Ross Tech customers and does not qualify for support directly from Ross Tech (phone or email).

Registered users can get free product support directly from Ross Tech over the phone. Product support is to help our customers to get the software and hardware up and running so they can communicate with a vehicle (this OP's issue here would fall under product support). Anything beyond that is vehicle support, which is a fee based service over the phone. Ross Tech still has free support for our customers via email.

Questions on forums like this, we don't mind helping out some one who is borrowing an interface from one of our customers. We hope that people will see the value in being a Ross Tech customer (in terms of support and the product itself) and make the small investment to purchase the best tool on the market. [/small sales pitch off]

For a real treat, call Dell's or Micro$oft's customer support. Not even close to the excellent support RossTech provides.
__________________
2006 Jetta TDI
5 speed, Manufactured 06/06
DC stage 1 SMF Clutch
Draw-Tite hitch
Dash Tray
Blue tint aspherical mirrors
Euro Cupholder
Euro Light Switch
2nd grocery hook
VCDS Hacks: DRL Disabled-Seatbelt Chime Disabled-Key fob Power Windows
Adjusted Cam to Crank Timing
Ol'Rattler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2012, 13:34   #13
AARodriguez Corp.
TDIClub Enthusiast
Vendor
w/Business number
 
AARodriguez Corp.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: South East USA
Default

Jeff thank you very much for helping my customer, really appreciate it!
Quote:
Originally Posted by jef@rosstech View Post
Just to clarify, registered Ross Tech customers can contact Ross Tech directly for support. If a Ross Tech customer loans his interface to a friend, that is fine, but said friend is not a Ross Tech customers and does not qualify for support directly from Ross Tech (phone or email).

Registered users can get free product support directly from Ross Tech over the phone. Product support is to help our customers to get the software and hardware up and running so they can communicate with a vehicle (this OP's issue here would fall under product support). Anything beyond that is vehicle support, which is a fee based service over the phone. Ross Tech still has free support for our customers via email.


__________________
AARodriguez Corp. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2012, 18:20   #14
csstevej
Veteran Member
Default

+++1 to Jeff for his product and support.
__________________
2001 golf auto to 5 speed manual swap,G60/VR6 clutch setup,coolant migration mod.
csstevej is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radio unit SD/MMC card reader: works fast? pierreracine VW MKVI-A6 Jetta Sedan (~ 2011+) 2 June 6th, 2011 16:46
No response from Contoller when engine is warm grenjs TDI Conversions 13 May 4th, 2010 12:37
Code Reader blackmagic16 Atlantic Canada 0 April 20th, 2009 09:37
fault code P0743 and Snapon codes 00300 and 00264 nsadoc TDI 101 3 November 23rd, 2008 07:32
Vag com code 00527 - code reader P1161 tdidieselbobny TDI 101 4 December 11th, 2006 13:07


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2020, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.18676 seconds with 11 queries
[Output: 127.91 Kb. compressed to 107.70 Kb. by saving 20.21 Kb. (15.80%)]