www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI Fuel Economy

TDI Fuel Economy Discussions about increasing the fuel economy of your TDI engine. Non TDI related postings will be moved or removed.

Old June 28th, 2002, 05:55   #1
days-like-this
Veteran Member

Default 36 mpg\'s on 2002 5 speed / tracking mpg\'s

I'm new to tdi's and just posted on the tdi101 section about mpg's to see what others were getting. I also read through some of the archives in this forum relating to venting, mpg's, etc.

I just got 36 mpg's on my third tank and I'm bummed, or at least worried that something could be wrong (as I've got a 5 speed)...my other two tanks were 47 and 41. Should I be concerned about this? Also, I want to try venting to get some consistency. When I filled up this last time it only went to 12.6 gallons. So if I'm understanding correctly, you'll always know you are full with venting, whereas if you don't, some pumps will shut off at different points and sensitivities?

Friends in California have also mentioned that Utah is supposed to have pretty crappy diesel compared to California...should I consider using an additive?

Lastly, could someone post a link to a great mileage spreadsheet...I read about those in the archives as well. Thanks
days-like-this is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2002, 11:42   #2
pkagel
Veteran Member

TDI(s): 02Jetta
Fuel Economy: 60hwy
Default Re: 36 mpg\'s on 2002 5 speed / tracking mpg\'s

i wouldn't worry about one tank, worry about the average over the long run.
pkagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2002, 11:53   #3
days-like-this
Veteran Member