Easiest way to check timing belt?

Dadwagon

TDI
2004 Jetta Wagon
My 04 Jetta wagon has no record of the last time the timing belt was done.
Do I have to pull the valve cover, or does the upper timing belt cover come off separately from the valve cover?

Thanks Dave

Mongler98

Top Post Dawg
TDI
98 Jetta TDI AHU 1.9L (944 TDI swap in progress) I moved so now i got nothing but an AHU in a garage on a pallet.
Cam index, Lockout IP with the pin, and verify flywheel markings.

this is the ONLY way. so yes, you have to take off the valve cover

Dadwagon

TDI
2004 Jetta Wagon
Thanks Mongler

I am a newbie, so can you explain a little further here?

What is cam index and lockout pin

AndyBees

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Silver 2003 Jetta TDI, Silver 2000 Jetta TDI (sold), '84 Vanagon with '02 ALH engine
PD engine???

Why does the Valve Cover need to come off other than to inspect the Cam lobes?

Based on your questions, you need to do a lot of research. You need a Bentley manual that covers your engine. Then when the TB is in place, you will need to set the torsion value using Vag Com Diagnostic Systems (VCDS).

You need a PD engine crankshaft locking tool set similar to this....

https://www.ebay.com/itm/6pcs-Set-D...528679&hash=item2396bff455:g:gvYAAOSwvD5aThvB

johnboy00

Veteran Member
TDI
2005 Passat Wagon, 2004 Jetta, 2003 Jetta wagon
If I'm reading this right, you are asking is there a way to check the age of the timing belt? the answer is generally no. If you don't know, replace it. There is no other safe option and at 409K (as I saw from one of your other posts) you can assume that its overdue for the following reasons: