2005 Passat Wagon GLS TDI

YNotTiguanTDI

TDI
05 Passat Wagon TDI
Gray with gray leather and cold weather package (heated seats) - 104K - Original owner - all highway/rural driving. Tires new this spring and have the original 17" Alloy wheels as well as a set of winter Michelin X-Ice. Asking $12,500

Selling this to buy hay for the winter for my horses - otherwise I'd keep it until I can get a Tiguan TDI or I give up on VW bringing them to the US. Plus we have 3 drivers and 4 vehicles which is a bit much at this point in time. Need the trucks so the TDI has to go.

All routine and recommended service has been performed - including but not limited to oil/filter change - with Castrol 5W40S Sythetic, air filters and tires etc... (I have the receipts). Haven't done the timing belt nor do I think there is any balance shaft module noise - have Dodge diesels and diesel tractors - the TDI just sounds like a quiet version of those.

I'm a total newbie at this so any suggestions are appreciated - thanks for the tips however some of you are definitely ruthless (of course I did routine maintenance) and somethings I'm clueless about (had to find a youtube video with the balance shaft module noise)

Still hoping for that Tiguan TDI - I'm located in SW Colorado which isn't the meca for TDIs - truckers still try to stop me from filling up with diesel.

Last edited:

tditom

Top Post Dawg
TDI
formerly: 2001 Golf GL, '97 Passat (RIP) '98 NB, '05 B5 sedan
timing belt is overdue. any balance shaft module noise?

what version of Castrol- Syntec or TXT?

ApriliaNut

Veteran Member
TDI
06 pkg 1 Jetta 191k w/Malone Stage 2
Welcome YnotTiguanTDI!!!
Pictures would be nice too!!

Tarbe

Veteran Member
TDI
Touareg and Sportwagon Sold to VW
Only thing I've ever done was replace the air conditioning relay and change the oil - Castrol 5W40 Synthetic (I have the receipts)

Are you saying you have never changed the air filter or the trans fluid?

Michael Slade

Veteran Member
TDI