40,000 Mile service

Mike473

Hi guys.

Went to the dealer today to have the air bag light issue fixed. While there, they kind of pressured me to do the 40,000 mile service. They said the cost was $400. I didn't have time to go over the service in detail. Has anyone had this service done at the dealership? Does $400 sound fair? Does anyone know of a good diesel mechanic near the Western, Massachusetts area (Springfield). I did examine the FAQ, but did not find the topic, although i admit to be a novice on these forums. Anyway. i am right there at 40K, so I am trying to make a good educated decision.

Mike

Keli_OR

Veteran Member
TDI
'15 black Sportwagen SE, '01 silver Jetta GLS, '00 green Beetle
Hi Mike,

I did the major stuff for my 40K service at a local GTG. I'm a real newbie when it comes to cars in general, but I didn't find it to be too difficult (with a little help from the guys!).
The big stuff is fuel filter change, oil and oil filter change, air filter change, cabin filter change, clean snowscreen.
I think you're supposed to lube stuff and do a safety check as well (do the lights work?, etc.) but I didn't do that part.
For $100 or so in parts, you're well on your way.

I would suggest hooking up with some people who are local to you and ask for some guidance in doing this work yourself.
I've found club members to be exceedingly generous with their time, their tools and especially their knowledge.

Good Luck!
Keli

Curious Chris

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Jetta Wagon 2003 RIP Rockford IL
Well $400 sounds typical, fair I don't know what to say to tbat. At 40K you change the all filters and the oil. www.impexfap sells a filter kit for about $80 and then the oil is about another $25. Oh they do have a long checklist of stuff they look at but you could do all the work in under an hour.