Unable to decide : Petrol/Diesel

**DONOTDELETE**

I am new in North America - VA, and surely in love with Jettas. I'm planning to purchase one shortly but not sure what engiene to go for Petrol or Diesel

Any help is highly appreciated.
Thanks.

Dante

Veteran Member
TDI
Silver 2000 Golf GLS TDI
You are going to find some bias here--It's safe to say we all love our diesels. Read the TDI FAQ before you read many more posts. Here's my favorite part--

"One thing to keep in mind about these forums is that we are enthusiasts. Some of us are overzealous when it comes to our cars. Some of us are anal retentive . We maintain our cars better than we do our personal relationships (my wife suggested I sleep with the car a few times). I honestly think that the car can be treated like a gasoline car in most respects with the exception of pumping diesel instead of gas. Oil changes at the factory recommended 10,000 miles with synthetic oil and changing the fuel and air filters at 20,000 miles are the only maintainance that you will need to do until you need to have the timing belt changed. If you compare this engine to the darling of VW's fleet, the 1.8T, you will see that the TDI is cheaper and simpler to maintain, not to mention the economy of operation. I've done just that."

You might go to www.vwvortex.com and post similar topics in the 2.0 litre and 1.8t forums to see what those owners have to say.

GoFaster

Moderator at Large
TDI
2006 Jetta TDI
Well, there are a number of factors, but let's start with this one. Suppose you just intend to drive and have no ambition of hot-rodding it or anything like that. Then it comes down to dollars and cents, and you'll be deciding between 2.0 gas and the TDI. (No point going 1.8T or VR6 if performance is a secondary factor.).