2007 V10 in Truck Pull?

Jesus Is Lord

Veteran Member
TDI
2005 Passat TDI Wagon 144,000 2003 Eurovan VR6 2007 Touareg V10 TDI 158,000
I am hoping and planning to pull in our local truck pull with my 2007 Touareg V10 TDI.

I have installed new camshafts from Frank Irving, a Stage 1 tune from Malone Tuning, and straight pipes.

I know I don't have a ton of power (360hp), but it will be fun, and nobody is going to expect a small suv to compete against big diesel trucks.

So, my question, I have no experience pulling, and I do not know how to set my suspension and drivetrain?

Should I put it in low range, or high range?
Traction control, or no?
Just floor it, or not?
Should I have the air suspension low, or high?
I should be able to put 1000-2000 lbs in it to get me to the weight limit, is that a good idea?
I don't know how the transmission will shift, so I am wondering about using tiptronic to shift it manually, or should it just be in drive or sport?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

crazyrunner33

Veteran Member
TDI
'10 Golf(bought back)
The proper way to sled pull: don't do it.

I have a feeling you're not going to listen and care about the amount of wear and tear(more than just your powertrain) and likely things you'll break. Run in 4 low. Run normal to high air pressure on the rear and low air pressure on the front. Then pray you don't break anything. Keep the RPM high and pray you don't break anything.

You also want as much weight up front and should have the rear higher than the front if possible.

Last edited:

VeeDubTDI

Wanderluster, Traveler, TDIClub Enthusiast
TDI
‘18 Tesla Model 3D+, ‘14 Cadillac ELR, ‘13 Fiat 500e
The proper way to sled pull: don't do it.