Nav RNS 510 unit HELP required

Jetta_Pilot

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2015 Passat Highline TDI Candy White (SEL Premium) long gone 2002 Jetta TDI
I have already posted this in the Ontario thread, but so far no responses.

I'm basically still brand new to my 2015 Passat. The destruction book is almost useless.
If I want to go to an address in Toronto, the 510 tinks I'm in the USA and I have to go through hoops to enter a Cdn address. I enter "O" for Ontario and I get these choices, Ohio, Oklahome and Oregon. Then I try to enter STATE and it gives me a worldwide selction including Canada.

I've been using GARMIN GPS's since 2002 and they always know what country I'm in.

Is there anyone who has the same unit as I do in what we refer to as the "Greater Toronto Area" who would be willing to edumicate:eek: me in the use of this unit? I'd spring for a couple of wobbly pop's in a neighbohood pub.

Jetta_Pilot

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Follow up !

I solved one problem. The darn thing thought I was in the USA but I am not.
I bought the car with about 5,500 miles 9,000km on it and obviously someone had it in the USA for a trip and monkeyed around with the GPS settings.
I had to set "STATE" as Canada and then had to jump through hoops to enter a destination.

I found what the problem was. I simply had to set a home location which I did but not right at my house. After setting a home location the darn thing now knows where it is and entering a destination is easy.

Jetta_Pilot

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Does anyone know why the nav unit does not recognize a SD card? In Setup-Media everything but MDI is greyed out. I can stick a SD card into the slot to try and add some waypoints of my own in *.db3 format and it says loading the file. But it really does not. The unit will play CD/DVD's but that is also greyed out in the actual Setup-Media settings.
I've tried every setting there is and no luck. I've even reloaded the newest firmware and that makes no difference either.

unixb0y

Veteran Member
TDI