Fill up volume of 2012 Passat TDI

Flyboy777

TDI
2012 VW Passat TDI W DSG
Ok, I I'm new to the Diesal world but am a bit baffled. When I fill up my Passat it only shows 7/8 full with the fuel RIGHT up to the cap. Granted I do a fast fill then after the click off I slowly top it off. I have heard that Diesal foams SIGNIFICANTLY on a fast fill. I'll have to try a slow fill next time I fill up (which is NOT all that often!) as far as a refill with the range showing < 10 KM remaining I can only get in AT MOST 63 Litres in what is supposedly a 70 litre tank. Granted I expected VW to build in a bit of a reserve into the zero range mark so I would expect there to be 50 or a 100 km of fuel left in the tank at 0 range. SO that amounts to about 5 Litres. I'm just a bit stumped as 6 or 8 litres would take me probly 150 km so I'm thinking part of this is just due to fuel foaming and the other part is the reserve. I like to get to know my vehicle and my last one I knew how much fuel I had in tank when the fuel low level came on and how close to E I REALLY WAS when the needle hit the bottom of "E". Any experience out there with this? Just how tolerant are these fuel delivery systems to Burping? ie sucking air. Old school diesels fuel systems I have heard through the grapevine need bleeding but I have no Idea how these modern high pressure injection engines tolerate air ingestion. I have read that the fuel system needs purging when changing fuel filters by running two pumps via plug in software or manually jumping the pumps ..... Sounds like a pain in the ass. Yet others say just top off the canister really well and no problems ..... Just start er up. Thoughts? I'm thinking of doing my own fuel filter changes but don't want to fry the hp pump. All for saving a few bucks on a filter change.

TheGrove

TDIClub Enthusiast, Veteran Member
TDI
2012 Passat SEL Premium Opera Red - Dieselgate Fix, KermaTDI Tune, 2004 Passat GLS Northern Green-RIP