1998 jetta wont start!

shakenbake

TDI
1998 jetta
let me start off by saying this is my first ever diesel car. i have a lot of mechanical experience, ive rebuilt 2 944 turbos successfully. i picked up a 1998 jetta tdi as a fun project, and to learn about diesels. i bought it not running. i replaced the ignition switch, and it has a new fuel pump (the one that runs off the timing belt) and it has a new starter. the guy said it took a while to start when it ran, and he said he friend a VW tech said the pump wasnt timed right. the ignition locked up on him, the steering wheel wouldnt turn. and thats when he stopped driving it. i got that all taken care of. where i am now is the lights all turn on but the starter doesnt crank. i jump the starter from the battery and it turns the engine over no problem. also when i turn the key to crank there is a buzzer sound coming from the alarm box, that white box behind the left vent. right now all im trying to do is get the key to crank the motor over!

loganbmx4gt

Veteran Member
TDI
97' Passat (1Z), 02' Golf
You are getting the glow plug and and check engine lights all to come on before start correct?

You say it has a new pump on it. Do you know if it was ever started with the new pump on it? Wondering if the pump is to retarded.

Also you may want to seek out some assistance with getting the car scanned with VCDS HERE and then if you may need a guru's assistance check out HERE.

Welcome to TDIClub!

Last edited:

shakenbake

TDI
1998 jetta
the previous owner said it used to take a "little while" to start up after the new pump, he said this is because the pump needs to be timed.

Im checking out your links now. thanks for those.