Fault Codes

ransmith

I am a newbie, and had the good fortune to locate a kind and generous club member, who has VAG-COM, and ran fault codes for my 2000 Golf TDI. Symptom: Substantial power loss, with check engine light. This happened previously, and the dealer repair cost was $550+. Repair included MAF Meter, MAF Sensor, and O-ring. The problem resurfaced after barely 2 months. Symptom: Same. The fault codes generated read like this:
2 DTC's Found:
16485 - MAF Sensor (G70): Implausible Signal 35 - 00 - -
19587 - EGR System Rehulation Range not Reached 35 - 10 - - - Intermittent
Can anyone provide any depth breakdown, concerning the fault codes generated?
Good news...repair covered under warranty...this time!

GoFaster

Moderator at Large
TDI
2006 Jetta TDI
If that had happened, then it would have happened right away. I gather that there was a period of 2 months of normal operation and then the symptoms and trouble codes surfaced without anybody doing anything under the hood at the time.

Problem is a fauly MAF sensor. It is giving a signal which is out of specifications. The EGR trouble code is probably related to the issues with the MAF sensor, because the MAF sensor is used to regulate the operation of the EGR system.

Make sure that THIS time, they install the updated wiring harness connector to the MAF sensor, if this vehicle was subject to the situation that involved this connector and it hasn't already been fixed.

There is no guarantee that the updated connector will solve the problem permanently but at least it will rule out one potential cause. If you search these forums you're gonna find out that the MAF sensor used on all A4-chassis VW's is JUNK, and they have yet to properly solve it.

ransmith