www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Order your TDIClub merchandise and help support TDIClub


Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI 101

TDI 101 Got a simple/basic TDI question? Are you a newbie (new to the forums). Feel free to post your question here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 19th, 2020, 11:18   #1
WOODWARD395
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Lancashire
Question turbo vnt 1.9 tdi using vcds

hi been looking for the setup for installing new turbo 1.9 tdi using vcds cannot seem to find anything is there one on here if so can anyone point me in the right direction. thanks.
WOODWARD395 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2020, 11:41   #2
eddieleephd
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Asheville, NC
Fuel Economy: 38mix / 47@70-75
Default

??
The only thing VCDS is used for is logging and adjusting boost. Otherwise it's manual replacement of physical parts

Sent from my moto g(7) power using Tapatalk
__________________
'02 1.8t Jetta Wagon Alh w/5spd swap, SB 21#SM DD, bew lift pump, 11mm IP, VNT17, Malone stage4 tune, 2.5"cat back st. pipe,Vr6 brakes, 2" lift, Panzer, Bilstein HD, Bosio DLC 1019's PD_fuel_delivery TDI Search Plug release tool Howto terminal release tools VW/Audi
eddieleephd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2020, 13:10   #3
Mongler98
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern MD
Fuel Economy: Race: 12mpg, Gandma:65mpg
Default

you cant. you need to either
A: buy a tune someone has made Darkside industries or Malone Tuning
OR
B: write your own tune with a flasher and software. VCDS has nothing to do with any of this at all.
you have more searching and reading ahead of you.
my advice is to contact a tuner in your area and ask them for assistance.

as for just replacing the turbo, that's a hardware application you need tools for and parts.
Mongler98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2020, 09:49   #4
WOODWARD395
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Lancashire
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddieleephd View Post
??
The only thing VCDS is used for is logging and adjusting boost. Otherwise it's manual replacement of physical parts

Sent from my moto g(7) power using Tapatalk
thanks realised how to adjust the boost now using live feed logging.
just get it as close to spec as possible that's correct is it not, thanks
have adjusted stop with mini vac 17.7hg

Last edited by WOODWARD395; January 24th, 2020 at 09:53.
WOODWARD395 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2020, 10:02   #5
eddieleephd
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Asheville, NC
Fuel Economy: 38mix / 47@70-75
Default

I run a log then adjust. My goal is about 150-200 mbar above peak requested.

I use the malonetuning.com website graphing feature to view the log and show the overboost.

150 mbar is 2.175 psi 200 mbar is 2.9psi. well within specs.

I have read to adjust the actuator so it starts moving at 5" and stops at 15" I think. But a proper actuator should do that and it's impossible to see when its installed by the firewall. So adjustment for boost is best I have found. However, a pain dealing with the heat of the exhaust.

Sent from my moto g(7) power using Tapatalk
__________________
'02 1.8t Jetta Wagon Alh w/5spd swap, SB 21#SM DD, bew lift pump, 11mm IP, VNT17, Malone stage4 tune, 2.5"cat back st. pipe,Vr6 brakes, 2" lift, Panzer, Bilstein HD, Bosio DLC 1019's PD_fuel_delivery TDI Search Plug release tool Howto terminal release tools VW/Audi
eddieleephd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2020, 09:31   #6
WOODWARD395
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Lancashire
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddieleephd View Post
I run a log then adjust. My goal is about 150-200 mbar above peak requested.

I use the malonetuning.com website graphing feature to view the log and show the overboost.

150 mbar is 2.175 psi 200 mbar is 2.9psi. well within specs.

I have read to adjust the actuator so it starts moving at 5" and stops at 15" I think. But a proper actuator should do that and it's impossible to see when its installed by the firewall. So adjustment for boost is best I have found. However, a pain dealing with the heat of the exhaust.

Sent from my moto g(7) power using Tapatalk
i have burns all over my arm from exhaust plus a couple of slices out of my arm from bracket that holds sump sensor,
WOODWARD395 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB turbo vnt-15 or vnt-17 for ALH vagpaul Private TDI Items for Sale/Wanted 1 August 17th, 2014 20:50
Turbo is dying? VNT 17 or VNT 15? Tuner Stickers VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 12 March 16th, 2013 02:06
VNT-17 with a VNT-15 stamp? turbo expert eyes needed michael. TDI Power Enhancements 6 September 18th, 2010 21:02
a flange question about the vnt-15 and the vnt-17 turbo. nApkIn TDI Power Enhancements 4 December 15th, 2001 18:03


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.12485 seconds with 11 queries
[Output: 75.10 Kb. compressed to 65.93 Kb. by saving 9.17 Kb. (12.21%)]