www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You




Go Back   TDIClub Forums > TDI Model Specific Discussions Areas > VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD)

VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) This is a general discussion about A4/MkIV Jetta (99.5-~2005), Golf(99.5-2006), and New Beetle(98-2006). Both VE and PD engines are covered here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old September 28th, 2013, 09:24   #1
wncre8r
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: M
TDI(s): 2
Default '03 wagon shuts down and resets clock and trip odometer

I am having an intermittent problem with an '03 wagon. It shuts down while driving and in doing so the clock and trip odometer reset but not the radio. I have to pull over and turn the key back to off and start again. Any Ideas? The battery terminals are tight. This has happened 3 or 4 times in the last month
wncre8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2013, 09:55   #2
Genesis
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Niceville, FL
Fuel Economy: 53/48/42
Default

Check the primary fuses (on top of the battery) and the ground lead at the engine block end. Good bet it's the negative cable that has the problem.
Genesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2013, 10:10   #3
flee
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chatsworth, CA
Fuel Economy: 40-ish
Default

Also, how old is the battery?
I had the same symptoms and later needed a new battery.
flee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2013, 15:34   #4
AndyBees
Veteran Member
 
AndyBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southeast Kentucky
Fuel Economy: life time average above 50 MPG on the Jetta
Default

Loose or poor connection somewhere!

Has the problem caused any issues with the radio? If not, the problem is not the battery or battery terminals nor the circuit that involves power to the radio! Otherwise, you would be looking for the radio code in order to re-set it.
__________________
'84 Vanagon '02 ALH TDI engine(32 to 35+ MPGs consistently) Malone Stage 1 tune. Road trip to Nova Scotia 2013. Road trip to Alaska summer 2014 & 2016, 11k & 12k miles. 80k miles on install, Jetta Cluster odometer currently at 209k miles.

Last edited by AndyBees; September 28th, 2013 at 15:36.
AndyBees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2013, 16:01   #5
Genesis
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Niceville, FL
Fuel Economy: 53/48/42
Default

Andy: Nope. The radio will not lock if the ECU and radio combination remains the same. I've pulled my battery for over 24 hours before while doing work on the car and did not need the code -- it checks the ECU serial number and if the same it comes right back up.
Genesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2013, 17:30   #6
Rxfire
Veteran Member
 
Rxfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dripperley-Blanco Triangle, TX
Default

Andy and Genesis--

Same here, never had to use a radio code when pulling batteries with any of our 03's.

I was all worried, maybe they changed it somewhere in the 2000-2003 years
__________________
2 each 2003 GLS Jetta Wagons (White/tan leather and White/black leather), 5 speeds, Panzer plates, roof rack cross bars (hers), homelinks, 520 nozzles, ventectomies, trailer hitch (mine), VR6 front springs (hers); 1 inch lift kit w/ESP (mine) 1986 Isuzu Trooper Turbo Diesel, 1985 Isuzu P'up NA Diesel
Rxfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2013, 20:47   #7
mittzlepick
Veteran Member
 
mittzlepick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: union maine
Fuel Economy: 1175 record tank
Default

relay 109? ignition switch?
__________________
mittzlepick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2013, 21:14   #8
AndyBees
Veteran Member
 
AndyBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southeast Kentucky
Fuel Economy: life time average above 50 MPG on the Jetta
Default

Never had to use Radio code either due to pulling battery. But, I have as a result of the negative cable losing connection as I hit the ignition to start the engine.. had that to happen a couple of times about 18 months ago!

It's a bad connection somewhere! Obviously, it is not just affecting the engine, it's hitting the power to the Cluster (which is Computer).
__________________
'84 Vanagon '02 ALH TDI engine(32 to 35+ MPGs consistently) Malone Stage 1 tune. Road trip to Nova Scotia 2013. Road trip to Alaska summer 2014 & 2016, 11k & 12k miles. 80k miles on install, Jetta Cluster odometer currently at 209k miles.
AndyBees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2013, 05:58   #9
Rxfire
Veteran Member
 
Rxfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dripperley-Blanco Triangle, TX
Default

Thanks for the clarification Andy, something to be aware of....
__________________
2 each 2003 GLS Jetta Wagons (White/tan leather and White/black leather), 5 speeds, Panzer plates, roof rack cross bars (hers), homelinks, 520 nozzles, ventectomies, trailer hitch (mine), VR6 front springs (hers); 1 inch lift kit w/ESP (mine) 1986 Isuzu Trooper Turbo Diesel, 1985 Isuzu P'up NA Diesel
Rxfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2013, 10:06   #10
wncre8r
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: M
TDI(s): 2
Default

so should I be looking for a loose neg terminal cable at the block or should I concerned about a 109 relay or ignition switch problem, what would be your best guess. why would it be intermittent and why would it only affect the trip odometer, clock on dash and shut the engine off?
wncre8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2013, 10:11   #11
Genesis
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Niceville, FL
Fuel Economy: 53/48/42
Default

I doubt it's relay 109 as that wouldn't kill the cluster.

I'd be looking for a loose primary power connection and the most-likely is the negative cable -- but it of course can be either of them.

Be aware that you can have corrosion INSIDE the cable jacket; if that is going on it is detectable by flexing the cable along its length -- if you feel "cracklies" when you do that it's a good bet the cable has wicked up salt and other corrosives into the jacket and the wire has been compromised internally and should be replaced.
Genesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2013, 10:27   #12
wncre8r
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: M
TDI(s): 2
Default

took off and cleaned the neg terminal at the block and also at the battery. looked at the fuses in the battery box, they look fine. Will see if that solves the problem. what does the 109 relay do?
wncre8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odometer (Not Trip-meter) resets itself Agontyr VW MKVI-A6 Golf family including Jetta SportWagen (~ 2010-2014) 18 January 13th, 2012 11:24
Trip odometer resets to zero and clock to 12:00 at each start dennisy TDI 101 3 November 6th, 2009 11:08
Trip odometer automatically resets itself? ddafforn TDI 101 6 September 16th, 2009 11:24
Help, Odometer, trip odometer and clock blank and run car MadDogBrenner TDI 101 2 February 19th, 2009 16:33
Clock & Trip Odometer Resets freedom3 TDI 101 11 February 23rd, 2004 15:39


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.13507 seconds with 11 queries
[Output: 105.95 Kb. compressed to 88.98 Kb. by saving 16.98 Kb. (16.02%)]