Short commute but love TDI's - what to do?

KITEWAGON

Veteran Member
TDI
2014 Touareg Exec, 2014 JSW
Hello, I have been driving my 2003 TDI wagon (in sig below) for almost 6 years now. I love this car - best I've ever owned. About a year ago I took a job much closer to home and now my commute is only about 8 miles and about 15 minutes. I've read a lot about how short trips aren't great for a TDI engine. My car is fantastic mechanically, but cosmetically its showing its age a bit. Its not rusting out from under me, but the rust is setting in a bit and I'm wondering if its time to sell it to someone who can pile on the 100-200k of miles that this car has left in it before it rusts out. I'm probably driving it only 6-7k or so per year right now.

I love driving my TDI, but I don't need the mileage anymore. I'm trying to decide whether I should just sell the TDI and buy a gasser. Hold onto the TDI a bit longer until some of the repaired CR's start to become available again? Or just continue to drive my old car until it eventually wears out?

I have new car fever now that our new Touareg is parked next to my old car. But maybe that will pass. In terms of replacements I've pondered a whole list of different cars. Something new each day it seems. Older XC70, G35x, GTI, eGolf, Leaf....and the list goes on.

But my real question here is should the short commute preclude me from owning and driving a TDI? Is it really much worse than driving any combustion engine for short trips?

kjclow

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2010 JSW TDI silver and black. 2017 Ram Ecodiesel dark red with brown and beige interior.
My commute has been about 7 miles since before I bought my first TDI in 2000. I still managed to put on about 20K miles a year. In total, I've put on aobut 250k miles over 17 years on the 2000 beetle and the 2010 jsw.