1998 Jetta with WVO conversion (and local WVO source) - $800 (Portland, OR)

mikerancourt

TDI
1998 Jetta
Ideally, I'd like to sell the car locally and pass on the source, but I may also consider nonlocal sale as well. Text below is copied from my CL ad (written for a different audience).

This is a neat car, great fuel economy, runs on waste vegetable oil and biodiesel, lots of little problems, the trunk is a mess. It comes with a source of waste vegetable oil and supplies for properly preparing the oil for the fuel system.

I have made several cross-continent trips in the car since I bought it in 2011. I think I've seen as much as 50 mpg on WVO during these trips (with cruise control set to 55 mph for hundreds of miles at a time), but it's probably safer to say that it gets around 45 mpg, no lower than 40. It's hard to measure accurately when you have two fuel systems.

I've been running WVO in various vehicles since 2004, and I can say with confidence that this is a good conversion. It uses coolant heat in the fuel tank, WVO filter, hose-in-hose fuel line, and a small heat exchanger just before the fuel selector valve. There is also a vegtherm electric heater just before the coolant heat exchanger, and with the looped fuel return, I've seen fuel temps of 180 degrees F prior to the injection pump (see photo), and temps over 200 degrees on the lines between the injector pump and the injectors. So, i can say with confidence that the veggie has a really good chance of spraying and combusting properly and safely (for the engine) if only clean, water-free oil is used. So, the system starts on biodiesel in the stock fuel tank (b100-safe fuel lines are used throughout the biodiesel side of the fuel system). A gauge on the dash shows when the coolant in the veggie components is up to temperature. I suggest running a good 5 minutes or so after that point is reached. Then, there is a switch to start running veggie and a toggle to then monitor the fuel temp after switchover