Federal Income Tax

Keith63

Veteran Member
TDI
2012 Jetta TDI Premium; 1974 Karmin Ghia; 1973 Super Beetle
If you received a payment following the fix $5,100.00, is this taxable on your 2017 taxes?

TDIforDays

Veteran Member
TDI
few of each 2.0 and 3.0
Honestly, 99% of people are not reporting it.

VW is NOT sending out 1099s to anyone. IFFF you get audited one day, this was a settlement, not income. Plus $5K unreported is not going to be any more than a tap on the wrist from IRS at worst case scenario.

PS: I am not a lawyer or CPA.

scooperhsd

Top Post Dawg
TDI
NB, 2000, RED(5 Speed conversion) 2015 Golf SE
Per my wife the tax preparer - Settlements are not taxable as income unless lost wages was part of the settlement.

DieselMann99

Veteran Member
TDI
2013 Jetta TDI w/ Premium, DSG (Buyback Nov 2018); 2013 Jetta TDI (bought Dec 2018); also, bought a CPO 2017 Passat TSI (Nov 2018)
If you received a payment following the fix $5,100.00, is this taxable on your 2017 taxes?
The answers you got are correct, but IF you use the car in part for business and deduct expenses and depreciate the vehicle, the business % of the $5,100 should be reported.

DieselMann99

Veteran Member
TDI
2013 Jetta TDI w/ Premium, DSG (Buyback Nov 2018); 2013 Jetta TDI (bought Dec 2018); also, bought a CPO 2017 Passat TSI (Nov 2018)
This is an important observation. If VW is not sending a 1099 to you - they are also not sending a 1099 to the IRS. As stated above, it is a settlement.
Whether you get, or not get, a Form 1099 is not what determines the tax consequences.

JSWTDI09

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2009 JSW TDI (gone but not forgotten)
Whether you get, or not get, a Form 1099 is not what determines the tax consequences.
Quite true. The point was that the IRS does not know that you received the payment. This means that if you decide (or learn) that it is taxable income that should be reported, it is up to you to report it.