B7 TDI AC Smell and Noise

franky67

TDI
2013 Passat TDI Se
I bought my car about 2 months ago from VW dealer with CPO warranty.
2013 PASSAT TDI SE W SUNROOF AND NAV
My car now has 24.500 miles. I bought it at 17100 miles.
My AC smelled bad for a while(it still does). And then started making noise.
The noise is more like a metal touching something and sometimes like whistle or air leak.
Now it's not blowing very cold,just OK,becoming warmer day by day.
And it's noisy.
It was blowing super cold last week.
I changed cabin filter under glove box. Still the same issue.

Did anyone have same issue before? I cant even locate where the a/c compressor is. I am pretty new to cars. Could someone tell me how should I check the compressor and belts.
By the way when the smell started I tried to look for air vents that draw fresh air but could not find them. Most cars have them in front of windshield however Germans did hide them somewhere.. :D
When I popped the hood, I noticed big two fans behind the radiator.
Smaller one was running fine,but big one seemed to be little off from the center,it was not touching the other fan but does not look straight.
Any suggestions?
NO CEL ON.

Will CPO warranty or any remaining factory warranty will cover this fix?
i checked the forum and could not find anything related to this.

Fixmy59bug

Veteran Member
TDI
2015 Passat TDI SE
In my 14 years of dealership, I am pretty confident that the smell is from one simple thing...

Most people do not turn off the A/C before they shut down the car. You should always turn off the A/C button about 1-2 miles from your final destination. This will allow enough evaporation of the moisture from the ventilation box.

When you do (or more correctly, Dont do) this, moisture is still in the A/C & heater box. This moisture will not evaporate and will start to mildew. That is the smell you are getting.