www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI 101

TDI 101 Got a simple/basic TDI question? Are you a newbie (new to the forums). Feel free to post your question here.

Old January 23rd, 2019, 12:06   #1
ratkc135
Veteran Member

Default Starter & Cables

My starter has struggled some so far this winter...taking 7-10 seconds to start when it was around 5-8 degrees. Battery checks OK...not great...but descent.

So I don't get stranded (I'm an airline pilot that leaves this car in employee parking lot) I think I may just replace battery, starter and the cables (ground, battery to ALT, etc). Wanted to see if anyone has had good luck with this kit I found to replace the wiring:

http://innovativewiring.com/?page_id=5332

If you don't like this kit...any other kits out there? I could always buy wire..and make them...but a kit saves me some time. If you all like this kit...any idea what length cable I need? It has I think at least 3 options.

As well as this starter:
https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B00T689U...v_ov_lig_dp_it

Good reviews on amazon and for $68. Then what I'll do is rebuild the OE starter and have that as a backup...then I can always have a rebuilt one on hand.

Is it necessary to do the wiring? Probably not...I read that corrosion can cause some starting issues as well as battery and/or starter....but if I'm going to remove battery to get to starter...why not get some new cables in there..then finish off with a new battery. That way my starter/battery/cables are good to go for another 17+ years...lol.

2013 Passat TDI - SOLD Back to VW

Last edited by ratkc135; January 23rd, 2019 at 19:03.
ratkc135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2019, 12:55   #2
drucifer
Veteran Member

Your parts list is as follows