www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You




Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI Power Enhancements

TDI Power Enhancements Discussions about increasing the power of your TDI engine. i.e. chips, injectors, powerboxes, clutches, etc. Handling, suspensions, wheels, type discussion should be put into the "Upgrades (non TDI Engine related)" forum. Non TDI vehicle related postings will be moved or removed. Please note the Performance Disclaimer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old August 9th, 2017, 06:39   #1
andrewjb
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Default Rocketchip MK3 ECU turbo issues UK

Hi All,

I own a 1990 MK2 GTI with AHU engine conversion, the car has the following added to it:

AHU engine, ARP head studs, SAAB FMIC, PD130 turbo setup, .216 nozzles, straight though exhaust and downpipe, EGR delete.

The ECU has a stage 2 rocketchip chip on it, the chip was added when the old owner was running a hybrid PD150 turbo.

The car quite often goes into limp mode, not sure if its just the car requesting too much boost for the stock PD130 turbo to flow or if the turbo is on its way out.

I'm really struggling in the UK to find anybody who can re-tune this ECU.

Does anybody know how the Stage 2 rocketchip tune will work with a BV43 PD170 turbo and .216 nozzles?

Andrew
andrewjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2017, 07:35   #2
GTiTDi
TDIClub Enthusiast
Macht Schnell! Vendor
w/Business number
 
GTiTDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 3 Spruce st Wareham, gateway to Cape Cod Massachusetts
Default

Have you tried emailing Rocketchip directly?
__________________
91 GTI CJAA (was 1Z powered) (2012 TDIfest Radical class winner) CTN+(eurotuning 6th) fully deleted, 3" SS downpipe and side pipe running standalone using the Tischspiegel
MK2 GTI build
schnellsnailFB
schnellvw.com
GTiTDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2017, 09:53   #3
shortysclimbin
Veteran Member
 
shortysclimbin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia currently
Default

I'm running a very similar setup with the the bv43 turbo and 11mm pump. I am working on fixing the little issues currently. you would need a new tune to fit either the vnt1749va (pd130 turbo) or the bv43 (Im using the CR turbo not pd170).

Honestly there is some smaller differences in the pd130 and pd150 turbos so I suspect your tune right now isn't optimized for the boost request vs. actual. Have you tried logging what you are seeing to see what the car is doing? what are the codes it throws when it goes into limp mode?
shortysclimbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2017, 14:24   #4
m1ketdi
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Leam
TDI(s): Leon BKD
Fuel Economy: 50+mpg
Default

Where in the UK are you? If in the midlands I can help with getting some logs and working out what you need to do to resolve..
m1ketdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2017, 02:08   #5
andrewjb
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Default

MK fella. Doesn't throw any codes for limp mode.
andrewjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2017, 02:09   #6
andrewjb
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shortysclimbin View Post
I'm running a very similar setup with the the bv43 turbo and 11mm pump. I am working on fixing the little issues currently. you would need a new tune to fit either the vnt1749va (pd130 turbo) or the bv43 (Im using the CR turbo not pd170).
Honestly there is some smaller differences in the pd130 and pd150 turbos so I suspect your tune right now isn't optimized for the boost request vs. actual. Have you tried logging what you are seeing to see what the car is doing? what are the codes it throws when it goes into limp mode?

I was told the CR turbo wouldn't fit or at least wouldn't fit with the PD130 manifold.
andrewjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2017, 09:09   #7
m1ketdi
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Leam
TDI(s): Leon BKD
Fuel Economy: 50+mpg
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewjb View Post
MK fella. Doesn't throw any codes for limp mode.
I'm up in Leamington Spa. Do you have vcds to log anyway?
m1ketdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2017, 02:45   #8
andrewjb
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m1ketdi View Post
I'm up in Leamington Spa. Do you have vcds to log anyway?
Just OBD Eleven
andrewjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2017, 02:49   #9
andrewjb
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Default

I now have these error codes:




EGR is fully removed so that just needs mapping out, I lost the throttle a while ago, fitted a new brake pedal sensor but error has never gone away.
Guessing the 3rd error is for MAP sensor?
andrewjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2017, 14:33   #10
m1ketdi
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Leam
TDI(s): Leon BKD
Fuel Economy: 50+mpg
Default

MAP sensor Fault Looks like a wiring issue. Trace the wires back from the map to the ecu checking for damage. Also check each wire for shorts to ground or positive of the battery with a multimeter. And will likely be why the fault happens intermittently.

The brake pedal plausibility fault sounds like the sensors may not be working... Do you have both switches and a clutch switch. This thread may help.

http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=287699

Do you have obdeleven pro to log live data?
m1ketdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2017, 17:03   #11
jsrmonster
Veteran Member - TDIClub Enthusiast
 
jsrmonster's Avatar
Default

The RC tunes come in many flavors for both variable vane and waste gate versions. What is your ecu pn# and RC version ? Get a screen pic of vagcom/vcds ecu module and let me know what you sw you have. Jeff
__________________
15 Golf SW DSG, 00Jetta 6spd race, 99.5Jetta Rocket ARL-PD150 6spd 2260, 2003.5 5.9L Cummins QCLB 4x4 Blue Monster, 00Passat1.8T, other tdi's: 97J, 98J, 99.5J2x, 00-C5 6spd - EFILive, HPTuner, Diablo Sport!
Never argue with an idiot.They will just bring you down to their level and beat you with experience.
The beatings will continue until the morale improves!
Good judgement comes from experience, and experience comes from bad judgement !
"DIESEL TUNING PROFESSIONAL" 1-5-3-6-2-4=;-)

jsrmonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2017, 01:30   #12
andrewjb
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Default

ECU is 028906021ED
S 1444 VW Sofware number
000002 Software revision
H s3PC EDC 15P


I took these off MPPS when I tried to read the ECU.
andrewjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2017, 01:31   #13
andrewjb
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m1ketdi View Post
MAP sensor Fault Looks like a wiring issue. Trace the wires back from the map to the ecu checking for damage. Also check each wire for shorts to ground or positive of the battery with a multimeter. And will likely be why the fault happens intermittently.

The brake pedal plausibility fault sounds like the sensors may not be working... Do you have both switches and a clutch switch. This thread may help.

http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=287699

Do you have obdeleven pro to log live data?
I do have OBD Eleven Pro.

Map sensor is on the ECU.
andrewjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2017, 02:12   #14
bhodgkiss
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Banbury, UK
Default

I'm just down the way in Brackley and do remapping
First thing I'd do is log boost and see how hard you're pushing the pd130 turbo
1.5 bar max is safe. You might be asking 1.8bar+ with a hybrid tune
Shame it's not a separate map sensor (it's built onto ecu)
I presume soldered on?

It may well be an upgrade 3bar MAP sensor if a hybrid pd150 has been run, although 10mm pump/0.216 nozzles wouldnt give enough fuel to need to run more than 1.5bar boost....

Has the ecu got sockets and chips? (most likely, otherwise the modified chips have been soldered back on)
__________________
AFN Wagon | Fjord Blue | BV43 | 11mm IP | R520 | PD Lift Pump | Ported head | 3bar MAP | SRE Clutch | FHN G'box | Forge FMIC | PD130 intake | EGR delete | Decat | Custom Remap | Porsche 4-pot 312mm Brakes | KW V1 | Carbon Upper Strut Brace, RS4 Lower | H&R 32mm Front ARB | Whiteline Rear ARB | OZ Ultraleg 18" Satin Black | OEM Xenons | Bucket seats | Battery & washer bottle in boot | 100kg removed |
bhodgkiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2017, 03:51   #15
jsrmonster
Veteran Member - TDIClub Enthusiast
 
jsrmonster's Avatar
Default

That ED ecu supports oem Usa/ahu wastegate turbo. It is RC stage 3 and won't run right on your vnt-turbo based engine. It is socketed, but if you remap it with euro (vnt) afn110 firmware it will need the matching eeprom programmed also to work properly with immo deleted.
I offer this service every day. If you mix up wrong sw and hw you can expect problems. You can use a boostvalve to limit max boost at a minimum so you can drive it.
Jeff
__________________
15 Golf SW DSG, 00Jetta 6spd race, 99.5Jetta Rocket ARL-PD150 6spd 2260, 2003.5 5.9L Cummins QCLB 4x4 Blue Monster, 00Passat1.8T, other tdi's: 97J, 98J, 99.5J2x, 00-C5 6spd - EFILive, HPTuner, Diablo Sport!
Never argue with an idiot.They will just bring you down to their level and beat you with experience.
The beatings will continue until the morale improves!
Good judgement comes from experience, and experience comes from bad judgement !
"DIESEL TUNING PROFESSIONAL" 1-5-3-6-2-4=;-)

jsrmonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mk3 B4 1z / AHU - ECU / ECM + RocketChip Stage 2 vwsnaps Private TDI Items for Sale/Wanted 21 January 7th, 2015 14:32
ALH Caddy 9K1 turbo issues after playing with ecu's... poxxxy TDI 101 1 October 31st, 2014 06:58
FS: MK3 TDI Rocketchip Stag 2 ECU mazrik Private TDI Items for Sale/Wanted 0 August 29th, 2014 11:24
FS: Rocketchip stage 2+ mk3 ECU mastermechanic5 Private TDI Items for Sale/Wanted 7 July 11th, 2013 09:23
99.5 Rocketchip ECU RC2/3/3+ euro ECU For sale. turbocharged798 Private TDI Items for Sale/Wanted 6 June 23rd, 2012 08:45


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.16215 seconds with 11 queries
[Output: 125.50 Kb. compressed to 104.94 Kb. by saving 20.56 Kb. (16.38%)]