What diesel brand and type should be used on 2002 tdi?

amitsekhon

Veteran Member
TDI
2015 Golf TDI,,,,,, 2010 X535D Diesel ,,,,,,,,,,,, 2002 Jetta manual TDI ALH (Sold)
I just bought a 2002 jetta tdi with distributor pump.I am totally new to diesels.So can anybody please tell me that what brand and grade of diesel i should use in my car here in Vancouver Canada or i can fill it up at any gas station with any type of diesel.Thanks

tditom

Top Post Dawg
TDI
formerly: 2001 Golf GL, '97 Passat (RIP) '98 NB, '05 B5 sedan
D2, at any high volume outlet (i.e. truck stop), unless you are certain that a corner station has good fuel.

Bob_Fout

Oil Wanker
TDI
2003 Jetta - Alaska Green (sold) / 2015 GTI 2.0T
Given that a good portion of VWs are diesel in Canada (40%?), turnover should be good at many stations.

CentralFloridaTDIguy

Veteran Member
TDI
none yet
according to VW...

you should try to run Diesel that has a Cetane value of 50 or higher...

otherwise your engine will not run optimally and your mpgs/kpl will be less than if you use the correct fuel

that is my story...

tditom

Top Post Dawg
TDI
CentralFloridaTDIguy said:
you should try to run Diesel that has a Cetane value of 50 or higher...
where is this fabled fuel? :confused:

CentralFloridaTDIguy

Veteran Member
TDI
none yet
in Canada and in Europe it is available...

tditom said:
where is this fabled fuel? :confused:
they have higher minimum Cetane standards than in the US.... also I believe that you can get 50 Cetane diesel which they call Premium Diesel or Diesel V Power (Shell)....
being that diesel is mostly used for trucking, construction, farming, and ship and train transportation in the US, there has not been a ground swell of demand for better grades of Cetane (most commercial uses of diesel are fine with 40 Cetane):cool:

tditom

Top Post Dawg
TDI
CentralFloridaTDIguy said:
they have higher minimum Cetane standards than in the US....