biodiesel in an international 466?

cooguyfish

TDI
none currently
I'm just throwing this out here as an extra research source, I drive a fuel truck for a living and my boss and I were talking about the possibility of making biodiesel and running his trucks on it.

My questions are,

-Where to find out about making biodiesel
-what kind is best? (I've heard of WVO and SVO)
-Does anyone know of someone with firsthand experience running a DT 466 E on biodiesel

Anything else you want to tell me would be great.

BioDiesel

Veteran Member
TDI
'98 Jetta
"Does anyone know of someone with firsthand experience running a DT 466 E on biodiesel"

search for that model at biodiesel.infopop.cc

And yes, WVO and SVO is best.

You and your boss could start by simply adding upto 20% WVO in your engines w/o modifications. Limit to 10% if temps go below 10*F.

konspence

TDI
2002 Golf
BioDiesel said:
"Does anyone know of someone with firsthand experience running a DT 466 E on biodiesel"

search for that model at biodiesel.infopop.cc

And yes, WVO and SVO is best.

You and your boss could start by simply adding upto 20% WVO in your engines w/o modifications. Limit to 10% if temps go below 10*F.
One thing to recommend is that going to SVO without converting it into Biodiesel is something that would not be recommended... There's a reason they sell B20, and not SVO20. Biodiesel has all the things in SVO removed that are bad on the engine, specifically those that cause the "coking". But as a company, International has (I'm quite sure) approved the use of B20. The reason for not approving B99 is likely due to the fact that it gels at a high temperature in most cases, and fuel filters needing changed are a higher likelyhood, so warranting that would be a hassle.