Road America Road Trip! (A TDIClub GTG)

Matt-98AHU

Loose Nut Behind the Wheel Vendor
TDI
2001 Golf TDI, 2005 Passat wagon, 2004 Touareg V10.
I asked my manager for the August 20th weekend off so I could make my way to Road America for the American Le Mans Series event there. Going to see the Audi R10 TDI in person.

I am a veteran of several ALMS events now and have been to Road America twice. I know my way around pretty well and know the places to be for photos and gotta hang around the paddock before the start. Plus you get to walk on track when the race cars are lined up there before the start.

There's quite a bit going on during the weekend. The ALMS normally has a few other racing series that travel with it and race throughout the weekend. SPEED World Challenge Touring and GT cars commonly, Star Mazda open wheel cars (featuring identical Renesis rotary engines found in RX-8 road cars) and sometimes another open wheel series, Atlantics, races with them as well (normally they're with ChampCar World Series. Sometimes SPEED World Challenge goes with ChampCar as well). Last year, Trans Am was with the ALMS event at Road America as well. Trans Am has since become defunct. ChampCar did own them, gave it back to SCCA and for now SCCA is just sitting on the Trans Am name.

Anyway, I know a couple in the TDIClub chat have expressed intent on going to Road America for the ALMS event. I am posting to see how many others would like to go and possibly have a mini TDIclub GTG at the track and enjoy watching a TDI dominate the competition at the same time.

bhtooefr

TDIClub Enthusiast, ToofTek Inventor
TDI
None
I am also undecided, seeing as the Golf probably won't be built by then, and I'm driving a 21 MPG gas hog minivan right now, until I get a chance to fix the Civic (which now won't be until the Golf gets built and is done... :mad:)

one.nine

Veteran Member
TDI
2014 Q5 TDI