Help!!!!Engine stumbling as though it is starving

charlestdi

TDI
GL Wagon,2003, Mojave
Problem:
Yesterday I was driving about 95 when the car stumbled a bit. I made it home but the engine was suddenly stumbling between 3k and 4k rpms. I looked at the fuel through the translusent tube and it appeared to have more air in the line than I had ever seen before. I tightened the fuel filter lines to ensure it wasn't sucking air. I have read the FAQ's and it doesn't have the same symptoms of a MAF. This morning I got up to seventy and it started to stumble again even when pulling away from a stoplight at around 2k RPMs. I disconneceted the MAF and it was still stumbling.

Background:
I have a 2003 Jetta Wagon with 76k on the odometer. I was upsoluted 50k miles ago, ventectomy, mufflerectomey,2" lift.
I changed the fuel filter,air filters,oil filter and oil 6k miles ago. I have been running b-99 for the past 2 months and have used amsoil since the car was new.

Any suggestions?????????

DieselFumes

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 Jetta TDI
Did you change the filter before you started using B99? It's possible that it's clogged. I've heard that biodiesel has a cleaning affect.

charlestdi

TDI
GL Wagon,2003, Mojave
I'm changing the filter right now, I'll let you know if that was it.

charlestdi

TDI
GL Wagon,2003, Mojave
Thanks for all the help, I think it may have been enough restriction in the filter to cause air to possibly by-pass the o-rings on the filter. I have only driven it two or three miles but it seems to be OK now with no air in the translucent fuel lines. I'm a few hours late to work so I now will give it a 150 mile test drive to work and home tonight. If I don't get back to you tonight, that means I'm on the side of the road somewhere. But God willing, it's fixed.

This web site is invaluable,

Geordi

Veteran Member
Somewhere between Heaven and Hell. But it is reall
TDI
14 JSW DSG, 03 Wagon 01M, 400k and IPT performance auto!