Sample Letter to Object - Send Yours By 9/16

buymypassat

TDI
2015 Passat
I have read this forum occasionally - when researching the TDI before purchasing one, when looking for people with experience with towing, and occasionally since the scandal broke.

I joined recently so I could post a sample letter for people who want to object to the settlement. It can be found here:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1IitkDWZ-g_utPu0Juahm490JHnQgHDF3Qolb7zouIxw/edit?usp=sharing

I thought this might be useful to people because it contains what the court requires, which can be found on page 22 of the booklet they sent us. Your letter might not be accepted if it does not contain what the court requires. Specifically, they require:

- name, address, and telephone numnber
- a specific statement that you are objecting
- your reasons for objecting, along with supporting materials
- The VIN of your vehicle and the dates you owned or leased it
- Your signature and date.

I am not a lawyer, but I think my letter contains all of this and is in a format that the court will expect. The part before "I still own the vehicle" is the part that will be most useful to you. Just put your name, address, phone, VIN, and dates in.

The part after are my specific objections. You might have your own that are different. From what I read in these forums, some of you will disagree with mine. So be it, put your own reasons in. I do recommend that you be as specific as possible with facts and speak to your own loss. That is why I left my reasons in for this sample - so you can see the detail as an example. If you agree with my reasons, you are free to use my exact language, but I'd recommend adding your own dollar values to replace mine.

You must send three copies of this letter, postmarked by September 16, one to each of the addresses listed in the address block of the letter.

I hope this helps someone - the more letters they get, they more likely the settlement will be enhanced!

Airpizz6