what damage occurs from a runaway engine?

diesel steve

Veteran Member
TDI
1996 b4v
I was considering buying a 96 Passat TDI that had a run away condition. The owner told me what happened and said when the engine stopped running there was no reading on the dipstick. He says it will start and run but doesn't want to let it run very long for me to see. My question is;what damage possibly occurred since the motor ran at a high rpm until it stopped? I think there would be engine damage even though it may still run.Any thoughts would be appreciated.

showdown 42

Veteran Member
TDI
2016 TDI touareg
I'm no expert ,but you will need an engine rebuild. Any engine that runs dry will have some major damage. How much will be determined after testing and break down to take a look. Price will be everything in considering the challenges.

oilhammer

Certified Volkswagen Nut & Vendor
TDI
There are just too many to list....
It really depends. If it still will start and run, that's a good thing. I'd fill it up with oil, and see how it is behaving.

But the question remains as to why it ran away in the first place.

I've had some that were just from excessive blowby and/or driving too easy for too long, I've had some from a bad turbo, I even had one blow an engine to pieces when the injection pump stuck internally, (literally threw chunks of rod/piston out 3 sides of the block), and I had no idea what the cause was until the used engine I installed (with the existing pump) blew up after about 12 seconds (bent 3 rods, scored all 4 pistons). :eek:

When my '91 started running away from excessive blowby (broken ring) it never really did any damage, just a few brief smokey spurts on the highway. And when a 52hp diesel runs away, it really isn't the pants-browning event like in a 90hp TDI. It just momentarily felt like a healthy TDI. :D

Vince Waldon

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 ALH Jetta, 2003 ALH Wagon, 2005 BEW Wagon
If there's any way to run a compression test you'll be much wiser.