Multiple Performance chips?

rswing

TDI
None Yet
I have tried searching, but I am a noob and dont really know what to search for.

I was wondering if there was any way to have multiple performance chips that can be selected with a switch (on the fly or with the car off). That way you could increase HP when you want and then go back to the factory chip to maintain fuel economy.

Also, are there any ECU chips that are intended for superior fuel economy? Reducing/eliminating the majority of the performance of the car for the best economy. I realize that this is not ideal, but if you could enable/disable this mode whenever you want, you can zip around town on a performance chip, and take long road trips on a different non/performance chip.

If anyone has any ideas or "terms" that I can search, that would be helpful. Thanks in advance!

dieseldorf

Top Post Dawg
TDI
ex- 1996 wagon, ex-2000 Jetta
Howdy, RS! Have you been able to reconcile your "reliability" concerns?

Yes, RocketChip does have a setup where things could be switched. I believe it was accomplished with VAGCOM.

Other vendors may have similar strategies for switching performance levels.

Good luck.

rswing

TDI
None Yet
That is great, thanks for the fast reply. I believe that I am going to go with a TDI. I appreciate all the info that I got from you all, and after talking with some friends, I think that this will be a fun car to have and learn on.

Since this is an "enthusiast's" car, I guess I had better become an enthusiast. Now it is just time to go shopping ;-)

GoFaster

Moderator at Large
TDI
2006 Jetta TDI
By the way, there isn't really much of a reason to switch performance maps. When you are cruising down the road at constant speed, the engine is not in the maximum-output region anyway, and most "chips" (actually, re-flashes of the stock memory) don't affect the part-load calibration. In this situation, your right foot is as good a switch as any.