Mass Air Flow sensor issue

kpenner

Veteran Member
TDI
2015 A6 TDI 3.0L
I am a newbie, just got a 2005 Beetle TDI 2 weeks ago with 125K miles. Only gets 39-40 mpg and I perused the postings on what to do for poor mileage. I noticed a lot of you said get a can of MAF sensor cleaner and clean the MAF, which I did. I let it air dry and also changed the air filter at the same time. About 2 days later, the check engine idiot light came on, I pulled into a VW dealer (the closest one from where I live is ~100 miles) and had them run a scan. It came back bad MAF sensor! A replacement is about $375! Help, what did I do wrong, is there any way to correct this without dropping a bundle of cash?

kpenner

Veteran Member
TDI
2015 A6 TDI 3.0L
Thanks for the website link, I will favorite it and use them in the future. I was reading in some of the TDI advice threads that reading the codes with an improper scanner could kill some of the electronics internally, that is why I didn't go to Autozone. Is that correct or should I not have any worries? I live in a small town but there is a NAPA nearby that will read codes for several $'s. If improper code readers are an issue, what type of scanner should they be using?

ymz

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2003 Jetta TDI Wagon, 2003 Jetta TDI Wagon
The generic OBD readers you find at those stores will read a limited number of codes - mainly those dealing with emissions. The only real problems to have cropped up were with early airbag controllers that had a defect, but those generic readers can't go there...

Just save your pennies and buy yourself a real Ross-Tech VCDS (new name for Vag-Com) cable...

Yuri

turbocharged798

Veteran Member
TDI
99.5 black ALH Jetta;09 Gasser Jetta
Use Vag-com and check for cam sensor out of range codes. That will tell your if the timing is out or not. If your timing is out, it will throw a cam sensor code(non-OBD) and effects how much air goes into the engine and throw a MAF code(OBD).

oilhammer