Buy a high mileage 06 jetta?

vwcruisn

TDI
05' Jetta GLS
Hi all... im new to the mk5 world.. know a bit about the mk4s....

I'm looking at an 06 jetta 5 speed manual with 160k miles... based on my knowledge of the mk4s... i know that is nothing... but what about the mk5s? what problems could i potentially face? Sorry for my ignorance!

seller states the following:
-Upgraded ECU (Racing Control Unit Program)
-New Tires
-New Fuel Filter
-New Timing Belt(150k)
-New Water Pump(150k)
-New Lifters
-New Injectors
-New Camshaft
-New Clutch (at 50k for Recall)
-New EGR Valve and Cooler

Last edited:

Jnitrofish

Veteran Member
TDI
2005.5, 2005.5, and 2006. 5m, 5m, and DSG.
-New DMF?
-New lift pump?
-New..rest of the car...?

How much is this guy asking for it?

I can see everything else (failing) but the injectors, unless it was an upgrade because he is racing it. In that case it probably shouldn't have a DMF. And was that 150k belt the second timing belt job that's been done or? They do have 80k mile change intervals and I do hope all the rollers and the tensioner was replaced too.

Jnitrofish

Veteran Member
TDI
If the work on that car was done right, then I have seen a lot worse. It all depends on what you think its worth in the condition its in.

I saw a bone stock car at the same mileage in Tampa FL listed at $16k.

I myself overpaid for my car cause it hadn't had its timing belt and everything done yet so I would know it was done by me and done right. Plus the previous owner was anal and wouldn't let the car go for less, and I liked the car.

Bob S.

Top Post Dawg
TDI
A B4V, some ALHs & BRMs
Sounds like a cam/lifter failed. I question if the oil pan were pulled and the debris removed. Not good residue to have basking in your oil.

The "Racing Control Unit Programing" sounds funny:confused: I am unfamiliar with that tune. Perhaps it has RC (Rocket Chip) reprograming and the guy is unwittting calling it Racing Control.

Not a bad price, but, be very, very cautious.