Start to Finish B5.5 conversion/project thread, a newb's journey

sunvalleylaw

Veteran Member
TDI
'05 Passat TDI GLS Wagon, 5 speed manual
Start to Finish B5.5 conversion/project thread

This thread is my attempt to document from start to finish my 2005 Passat project. It is not intended to be a "how to" thread, as I am not a mechanic, and though will be documenting the process as well as I can, I will not be the one doing the work. If anyone learns anything from my experiences, awesome! I will come back and list some threads to look at if you are considering the manual swap that may be a better place to look for "how to's". :)

I am buying 2005 Passat Wagon GLS with a blown tranny, and with the help of my local mechanic, converting it over to manual, deleting the BSM, adding a tune, and considering a camshaft, (either right away if needed, or later if this one is ok for now). This will be a work in progress, and the various mods listed will be done over a period of time.

Here is a quick pic of the car taken by the seller:

I will post a couple more after the car arrives sometime this next week, and plan to post progress pics as I can.
2005, GLS, Wagon, Dark Blue with grey leather, 112k original miles, two owners, the original for less than 2 years, then the current seller.

Prior to purchase, I had it inspected at a shop:

The bad:
-blown tranny (not shifting correctly in 2nd and 3rd, slipping and limp mode) also pan is leaking.
-Front passenger door lock assembly thinks door is closed all the time. -Needs to be replaced.
-Headlights lenses hazy.
-Minor bearing noise from viscous fan bearing.
-BSM still original, but no chain noise. (will delete anyway).
-very slight valve cover leak.
-One of the 17" Bistars is missing a center cap.

Good:
-two owners, all services done. Timing kit at 75k (now 112k)