PO299 and PO734 codes, tranny limp mode

skidlid

TDI
2004 Passat Wagon
I just pulled the tranny out and replaced both aluminum cylinders that went bad. One was broke so the clutch pack came apart. I found and accounted for all the chunks and it looked like the filter did it's job. I cleaned, flushed, and resealed the entire unit. Put everything back together and I'm not making boost now.

I'm not nervous about the assembling of the tranny, I've been doing these for quite a few years. Can these two codes be intertwined? Is the lack of boost causing the tranny code as well, or am I just wishing it would be that easy?

I have been having trouble finding a thread with a few pictures on how to test the N75 valve. I'm thinking I could have caused the problem by "disturbing" everything when I removed the tranny. I'm starting to run out of ideas.

I can reset the codes and the limp mode goes away. The tranny starts shifting smooth again but with no boost.

I'm running out of hair!!

thundershorts

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2015 passat tdi sel premium 2015 golf s tdi gls tdi b5.5, 2002 eurovan,Peugeot 505 td,Citroen cx25 prestige
Your two codes may or may not be related. The boost problem may well be a charge hose loose or with a hole. That should be easy. The trans code is most probably internal. When you clear code, it returns as soon as slippage occurs and tcu determines incorrect speed. When you had it apart you didn't mention using a master zf kit. Valve body cleaned and checked ? Tc replaced? After a major failure such as you had with drum D exploding, there are many possibilities.

skidlid

TDI
2004 Passat Wagon
I used a master zf kit, the valve body was cleaned and checked, and tc replaced. I'm just going to pull it out and go through again. There's only one way to be sure.

thundershorts

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2015 passat tdi sel premium 2015 golf s tdi gls tdi b5.5, 2002 eurovan,Peugeot 505 td,Citroen cx25 prestige