skid plate/belly pan (!!!!)

robinrt

TDI
1999 New Jetta, silver
Hi, I was the newbie who mistakenly asked about splash guards, and with the help/guidance of you kind souls learned that I really meant the skid plate/belly pan. My question is this: obviously, the vast majority of posters here are very knowledgeable about their TDI's. If you have a '99 jetta with 101K miles on it, do you spend the big bucks on a steel skid plate? I'm a very careful driver, no off-roading what-so-ever, and my plastic original one lasted quite a long time. I intend to drive the car at least another 100K. I just spent some bucks on a mass air flow sensor, so I'd like to not spend a huge sum, but I want to spend wisely. What do you think?
Robin

mikeyworks

Veteran Member
TDI
2000 Jetta GLS TDI Green, 2000 Jetta GLS TDI Blue
Robin,

Regardless of your on/off-road driving habits, more hazards appear on the highways than anywhere else. You can plan for that rock you see ahead of you. You can't always plan for that 2x4 or even worse, the 4x4 piece of lumber coming off the pickup truck in front of you. Something like that would take a nice chunk of metal out of your oil pan and turn your car into a high tech spy machine complete with oil slick deployment...but that's not a good thing!!!

The skid plate, whether it's the new aluminum pan or the older steel skid pan will protect the underside of your engine from road hazards as well as the day to day mess you pass over (puddles, road grime, etc.).

In my personal opinion, it's worth it. Have I bought one, no. I am cheap though and can't swing the finances for the pan and still plan to sleep in the same bed as my wife!!!!

Mikey

cardinarky

Veteran Member
TDI
NB 99 White
You can't imagine or avoid all of the things that fall off the back of 18 wheelers and flatbeds and out the tailgate of pickups today. Our roads are narrow continuous garbage dumps.
Most cars can safely straddle the junk because they have 6" or more in road clearance.