Extended warranty anyone?

wannaskoda

TDI
2012 vw jetta w/ nav
Hi all,

I'm a newbie and loving the forum. I just got a brand new 2012 Jetta TDI. I've been told by few mechanics (non of them were a diesel mechanic) that I should get an extended warranty on the car. Surfing the forum I noticed that dealing with extended insurance companies is never smooth. I'm at the point where I think I rather get myself a piggy bank.But what do you guys think?

Thanks in advance!

VWBeamer

Veteran Member
TDI
2004 Jetta Wagon
Piggy bank. Consumer reports rates the TDi a best buy and average in reliability.

Only way i would get one is if you think a big repair would cause serious financial hard ship.

For example, if you got a 8000 dollar repair , would you:

A. Not be able to come up the money without some serious searching or cashing out the kids college funds.

B. Although it may hurt, you would have enough in savings or available on credit cards to pay it.

If you answer A, then I might would get a warranty, if it's B, I would not.

If i did buy one, i would wait until the factory warranty is almost out, you will still be able to get one then.

Last edited:

VWBeamer

Veteran Member
TDI
2004 Jetta Wagon
True, if you do buy an extended warranty you normal car insurance company or a warranty backed by the auto manufacturer is the best. The third party warranties sold by the dealer are a high margin add on and a rip off.

Joe_Meehan

Top Post Dawg
TDI
NB TDI, 2002.5, Silver
Well any car can have major expensive repairs.

The profit to the salesman and company is usually over 50%. So for every $1,000 you spend the insurance company has less than $500 to pay for repairs or they will lose money, something insurance companies do not do. Some people will get nothing back and some will get a lot more than they pay. Most will get far less. In addition you need to keep in mind that the insurer has worded it to eliminate as many expensive things as they can.