Shredded serp belt, ext lifters damaged but good compression

peaceodarock

TDI
2011 golf
Shredded serp belt caused timing jump. I am hoping to replace lifters and get the golf running again but cannot locate 2011 tdi cjaa lifters...any ideas??

gmcjetpilot

Veteran Member
TDI
2010 JSW TDI DSG Matalic Grey
Shredded serp belt caused timing jump. I am hoping to replace lifters and get the golf running again but cannot locate 2011 tdi cjaa lifters...any ideas??
I am an EXPERT in this topic. :D :( :mad: First what happened? So the serp belt (alternator) jammed up the timing cog belt (cams/water pump/HPFP) by getting under timing belt cover? right?

OK one thing at a time. If you can un-jam the timing belt and rotate engine with socket on crank, care not to force anything, can you get timing marks to line up? Remove the timing belt. Install the new belt with timing marks aligned. Don't worry about idler bearing or water pump for now. Can you turn the engine over by hand with socket wrench on crank shaft? Again don't force it. Are the timing marks aligned? If not reset the belt. Next do compression test. Leak down testing is best. If the compression test good on all 4 cylinders, try and start it. If it runs you lucked out. You can go back and change the water pump and idler bearing and call it a new belt job. If you are not getting compression leak down can tell you if it is the exhaust or intake side (by hearing air leak out). So now to fix.....

Valve can hit the piston causing valve damage (bending), piston damage (marks), lifter damage and CAM damage. The lobes on the hollow cam shaft are pressed on, and they can get twisted out of alignment on the cam shaft.

One "simple" fix or at least straight forward, is find a used engine in a salvage yard, install that and part out the original engine. That worked well for me.