2010 JSW TDI rear wiper wiping backwards

jbg

TDI
2010 JSWagen TDI
Hello everyone,

Our trusty 2010 JSW TDI has just turned over 103,000 miles on the odometer. Things seem to be going well (knock on wood!) however the most peculiar rear wiper behavior has cropped up unexpectedly. The rear wiper arm is resting 180 degrees out. When it does wipe it wipes down onto the rear tailgate area, not "up" on the window.

We suspect there might have been some form of vandalism from when the car was in a parking garage. That or the wiper has just freaked out. Does anyone know how this can be fixed?

I've read how the wiper arm can be removed. I'm not sure if the wiping mechanism needs to be re-clocked or if something in there is broken. Has anyone experienced this issue before?

Thank you for any assistance! - Jim

ksing44

Veteran Member
TDI
2010 Golf TDI
I'm not a mechanic, but my first thought is to pull the arm off and reinstall it at 180 degrees where it belongs. Problem solved, I'd hope!

jbg

TDI
2010 JSWagen TDI
On further inspection it looks like the plastic that surrounds the threaded rod (which turns the wiper) is cracked. This is allowing the plastic arm to remain stationary (or not) when the wiper motor is actuated. I'll need to tackle this when it gets a little cooler outside.

Where can I see an exploded diagram of this assembly?

Thanks for your help. -Jim

msantram

Veteran Member
TDI
2011 SportWagen TDI DSG (Buyback 2018.01.30)
QQ: Where are most folks ordering their parts? Local dealer or online? I have a few parts that need to be replaced and considered going to a yard, but seems like a lot of work instead of buying new.

ksing44

Veteran Member
TDI
2010 Golf TDI