What do these modifications mean?

zootman

TDI
2005 Jetta wagon TDI
Hello and Thanks for having me. I am seriously courting an 02 jetta tdi wagon. The one that is local has 110,000 miles on it and the owner has done some modifications. I'm new to the tdi world and would appreciate some help deciphering what these mods mean and knowledgeable input to why they were done and if it is going to make my tdi experience better, worse or the same. So here goes, these are what the seller is adverising: Red rotor .216 fuel injectors, Upsolute Stage 1 ECU chip, Old Man intake, Fuel and Temp sensor delete, TDI coolant heater, new VR6 clutch, G60 flywheel, and a custom lighted Short shifter from Audi TT. I don't need a hot rod and the seller does not seem to be marking the price up for these items. Gimme your opinion please on what it all means. thanks

paramedick

TDIClub Enthusiast, Vendor
TDI
2015 Audi Q5 TDI
1) .216 injectors=large injectors that inject a lot of fuel
2) Upsolute 1 chip=older chipset that is relatively crude by todays standards. Mostly increases fuel maps. Can be smoky, especially with large nozzles
3) old man intake=an air intake that allows more air to reach the turbo. Used to control smoke. See above mods
4) Fuel temp delete=no clue why would do this other than to keep timing to be kept at a constant point
5) coolant temp sensor delete=some timing implications, but usually to force the glowplugs to glow at maximum duration
6) VR6 clutch/G60 flywheel= stronger clutch setup than the stock setup which cannot handle the chip/injector combo cited above without slipping. May be a bit noisy when idling in neutral
7) Short shifter=allows shifting with less movement of the shifter
8) TDI coolant heater=a method of having a warm engine/coolant in cold weather. Needs to be plugged in at least 2 hours prior to start to have any real benefits. Most folks set them up on a timer to come on 2-4 hours prior to start.