What Micron filter for HPFP safety

jrm

Veteran Member
TDI
2013 Passat SE with nav (totaled)
A friend has a large farm tank for filling up tractors and trucks, has some rust in the bottom- but does have a 30 micron filter setup on it. He wants to start using it to fuel his 11' Jetta with the wholesale prices (its green taxed on-road), what micron of filter is suggested? Is a 10 micron good enough, or should we go with the 2 micron cim-tek? Reason I ask about the 10 micron is that the water block doesn't come in 2 micron.

Last edited:

JSWTDI09

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2009 JSW TDI (gone but not forgotten)
I'm no expert but if rust and water are both potential issues, I would probably put both in series. First the 10 (with water control) to catch the "big pieces" and then the 2 micron to catch anything that gets through the first filter.

Have Fun!

Don

tdiatlast

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2009 Sportwagen (boughtback); 2014 Passat TDI SEL (boughtback)
Unless he's moving a lot of fuel on a daily basis, I wouldn't use the fuel in my CR VW, but that's just me. Long-term storage of diesel just seems risky to me. The convenience factor just wouldn't outweigh the risk.

akjdouglass

Veteran Member
TDI
2012 Jetta w/premium (sold to VW); 2014 Jetta Value Edition; 2015 Jetta SEL; 2003 Jetta GL
30 micron is used on tanks with gravity flow dispensing. Diesel won't flow well through anything smaller than 30, especially in cold weather.

jrm

Veteran Member
TDI
The dual setup sounds like a deal, simply add another adaptor.Shouldn't 2 micron be HPFP friendly enough? Im not wanting to make a several thousand dollar mistake if his HPFP explodes due to junk in the fuel.
He goes threw several hundred gallons a month with his Logging business, if he is hauling rock sometimes thousands of gallons so its fresh- he adds biocide if it sits during off season - just the bottom of that tank had rust in it last time I peeked in it during a refill.